PDA

View Full Version : PhidgetServo + Banebot 28mm RS-385 -> no torque?

trime
10-24-2007, 09:24 PM
Hello,

I bought a couple of motors to power a trolley. There should be ample torque according to the specs, but when I connect it to my phidget servo controller (as per the hint on the motor page) and set the PWM to maximum in either direction, I just get a groaning noise. I'm not an electrical engineer, but the voltages seem normal, and I even connected it to an oscilloscope and see what looks like perfectly normal square waves at half-maximum pulse width.

However

When I connected my multimeter to measure the current, suddenly I got enough torque and the rig started moving smoothly across the floor. Short circuit the ammeter, and I go back to the original groaning noise. Remove the short and I get all the torque I was expecting. I get the exact same response with both motors and both motor controllers, and even with another servo controller. This must be something fairly simple. I don't want to have to glue multimeters to the side of my trolley! :-) Any ideas welcomed!

Alex
10-25-2007, 10:09 PM
What is the PWM range that you are sending to the motor controllers that you have hooked up to the Phidget Servo controllers? Also, could you explain how you have everything hooked up?

trime
10-25-2007, 10:17 PM
I've tried in steps of 50 from 1500 to both 900 and 2100 (microseconds). At about 1700us there is ample torque to move the rig if I have the ammeter connected, but without the ammeter, just a groaning noise.