PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Datahead
11-05-2007, 11:43 AM
Hello:
This is my first of most likely many post on this site. Allow me to introduce myself, my name is Ron, and being recently retired, (What ever thats suppose to mean...LOL) I have started a new project to keep me busy. My goal is to design and build a completely Solar powered / Green powered home with a totally autonomous control system. The over all goal is to be completely off the grid with the exception of an Internet connection.

Anyway, I know this isn't robotics so to speak, but the functions and control systems are basically the same, so that being said, I look forward to talking to all here, as I'm new to robotics this will be a challenge for me, but I have some basic programming skills, plus I have worked with electronics for over fifteen years.

As of right now this project is in the R & D stage as I want to build the control system from scratch for later production and sales of the systems. So for those interested in working on this project, let me know.

Anyway, after reading post here there is obviously allot of good information here, so I look forward to talking to all you folks. Also if I can help anyone here, I will do my best to pass on information that I may have.

Regards:
Ron :cool:

Dave
11-05-2007, 03:39 PM
Right on, man. We have some serious home automation nuts on this forum, so I'm sure you'll find our community helpful. Keep us updated on your project, and we'll help out however we can.

jdolecki
11-05-2007, 05:38 PM
I always thought an PLC would be good for a home automation project.

Datahead
11-05-2007, 10:37 PM
Thanks Dave for the welcome. Actually I just retired from fifteen years of owning my own home A/V and automation company, so anyone needs help there I'll be happy to help. But after a hip replacement, and turning fifty, I couldn't get up the ladders anymore.