PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

musashi
01-04-2008, 04:09 PM
Hello robot-people! I am a new member.

Of course, I love robots too!

Quick background if you're bored enough to read it, lol.

X-navy, I was an electronic technician on a missile system, NATO Seasparrow. So technically I was a firecontrol man type electronic tech - same schooling, expect I played with missiles and not consoles only. I served from 96 to 02. I am completely oppossed to the current state of military affairs.

I will be getting my bachelors in pure mathematics in May from Stony Brook U. on Long Island. I was a transfer student who originally wanted to be a theoretical physicist, but the job isn't worth the headache or competition when I can learn it on my own and do a way cooler job like building robots and robot brains!

I lived in Japan for 4 of my 6 years in the Navy. I am a long time student of the language, but I would say at best I speak at the level of a pre-schooler, sad.

I am moving to Rochester NY to go to RIT next fall with my lovely wife (who loves robots too). I am very excited to be going to this awesome school. I will be changing over from math into computer science where I will focus on artificial intelligence and robotics.

Thanks for having me. I hope I will be able to contribute a lot in the coming times.

Sincerely

DresnerRobotics
01-04-2008, 05:20 PM
Welcome board Musashi!

Have any cool robot projects youre working on or planning? Feel free to share em over in the projects forum, we always like seeing new bots!

Take care.

musashi
01-04-2008, 05:43 PM
Thank you Tyberius!

No, no projects yet. I'm looking now to find a project actually. I've been very very theoretical for a long time, but I'm tired of all theory in life, and I have decided to make AI and robots my future.

I'll amg going to gradaute school for this next fall. So I'll definitely keep everyone upto date on my research if they like. It may turn out to be boring, but I certainly hope not.