PDA

View Full Version : Education question

musashi
01-10-2008, 06:59 PM
Hi again. Here's an education question.

Here's a my goal. To be an all round serious AI researcher and Roboticist.

Here's my education.

I was an electronic technician in the Navy. So I have basically a 2 yr education in that, but it's technician work not engineering.

I will have a bachelors in pure math. My math is all the way up into graduate math. I have taken almost the entire first two years of an electrical engineering major also.

I will have in a couple of years a masters in computer science in Ai and robotics.

My question is regarding a second bachelors. I don't care about the degree per se, but I do care about have a serious education and being a serious researcher.

Would it be absurd to complete a second bachelors in the next 5 to 6 years in mechatronics while I do my masters and PH.d?

And here's another question if you could answer please. Do you have or know anyone with a second bachelors?

Thanks!

JonHylands
01-11-2008, 06:55 AM
A bachelor's degree is just a piece of paper that tells prospective employers that you know how to learn stuff. The only piece of paper that is worth anything in the research world is a PhD. If you want to do mechatronics, teach yourself. Figure out what they are teaching in the courses you would take, and just learn the stuff yourself.

I thought about going back to school to get a PhD, given the research I'm doing. But I just can't stomach the whole "paper-craze" that seems to infect the research world.

- Jon

musashi
01-11-2008, 08:37 AM
I think you're right. It seems daunting to teach myself that much. But everyone I've talked to has had similar advice.

I support the idea of you getting a PH.d. And I've got a good appreciation of not liking the "paper-craze". It will probably be the thing that drives me nuts.

Alex
01-11-2008, 11:22 AM