PDA

View Full Version : wifi robot with fully auto paintball turret



seesoe
01-14-2008, 02:33 AM
hello all, just wanted to really quick explain my setup and what im trying to do then i can get into details later

i have built this robot thats can be controlled via ad-hoc or over the internet WI-Fi, from a laptop, PSP, PDA, Wiimote, things like that. the robot has fully on board windows XP with supporting hardware. im using the Roboteq AX2550 brushed DC motor controller.

now for the paintball part, im using a Sypder E99, which is half electric and half mechanical. i have already made the gun where i can fire it over the internet via a relay board, but thats just for now. i want to put the marker on top of the robot and make a paintball turret. i been looking and reading around for a few days now. i want to use the

4-Servo Phidget USB Servo Controller (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/3188-Servo-4-Motor-Controller.aspx)
with 2 of these (http://cgi.ebay.com/2-pcs-XPOWER-S9350-High-Torque-Metal-Gear-Servo-Futaba_W0QQitemZ150170052486QQihZ005QQcategoryZ340 63QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) servos off Ebay

i was wondering if the Phidget board will be able to handle those servos?

a neat note to add im hooking the Phidget board up to image processing software called RoboRealm (http://www.roborealm.com/index.php)everyone should check it out its very neat!!

Project log found at Bit-tech.net Semi-teQ (http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=134568)

im open to any ideas question or concerns, thanks in advanced!

Alex
01-14-2008, 01:52 PM
Hey seesoe!

The Phidget 4-motor USB Servo Controller should be able to handle those just fine. We've used the HS-5645 (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/3295-Hitec-Servo-HS5645.aspx) which has 168 oz-in. @ 6V stall torque and the Futaba S9350's have 139 oz-in @ 6V stall torque. The important thing to remember is to be careful with port #0 on the servo controller. That one is powered directly via USB, whereas the other three ports get their power via the power supply.

Neat project seesoe!

Stick around and keep us all updated with your project:)

seesoe
01-14-2008, 05:20 PM
im really looking forward to working with the Phidget board, im placing an order for the board tonight

i sure will stick around these forums are interesting :)

im trying to figure out a way to make a servo into a relay so i can fire the marker via relay form, im not sure if i can just get a servo extension cable and splice from there.

Alex
01-14-2008, 07:10 PM
Have you taken a look at any of the radio (PWM) switches?

http://www.trossenrobotics.com/relays-switching-controls.aspx

Basically, you give it a certain PWM signal and bam! it switches:)

seesoe
01-14-2008, 07:20 PM
i actually opened that tab like 20min ago and never got around to browsing it lol

i just did now and thats exactly what im looking for, though its a bit pricey but i guess it needs to be bought to get the system working nicely, thanks for the link!

seesoe
01-15-2008, 02:48 PM
i could probably run the RC-100X off servo port #0, no?

Alex
01-15-2008, 04:44 PM
Shouldn't have any problem using the RC-100X on port 0:)

seesoe
01-15-2008, 04:51 PM
ok cool great, perfect then, thank you, i just placed my order for all my stuff, can't wait to starting working with them, exited to hook it up to RoboRealm software.

Alex
01-16-2008, 10:22 AM
exited to hook it up to RoboRealm software.

I'm excited to hear about it! We'd love for you to create your own blog (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/blog.php) here in the TR Community and document it!

DresnerRobotics
01-16-2008, 10:29 AM
Cool project idea!

I'm currently working with pan/tilt tracking using roborealm on my own project, so if you have any questions about it, by all means let me know. It can be a bit tricky to get dialed in at first.

seesoe
01-16-2008, 02:52 PM
thanks for the help tyberius, from looking at all the settings and modules for roborealm i can see that its gonna give me a hard time probably.

seesoe
01-21-2008, 07:46 PM
tyberius you where right, its tricky to get the phidgets working with roborealm, i can't get it to work, its something to do with the dll as it says, but theres not to much info online

Alex
01-22-2008, 10:38 AM
What problems are you having? What sort of error are you getting?

I don't know anything about Roborealm, but I do know quite a bit about Phidgets. Maybe a combination of my experience with Phidgets along with others experience with RoboRealm here will get some answers for ya:)

seesoe
01-22-2008, 02:57 PM
i got it working, it was roborealms mistake, they didn't update the codes when phidgets did

Alex
01-22-2008, 03:13 PM
Great to hear you got it working:)

I can't remember if I mentioned anything to you in a PM or email or anything, but if you're close to having something to show off, you should consider entering it in the contest (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/contest.aspx)!

seesoe
01-22-2008, 03:15 PM
yes, but with out paintball turret i can show it off, im planning to enter, i just need to find time to organize the project is a mess now

Alex
01-22-2008, 03:36 PM
gotcha! Well, you still have till the end of February:)

seesoe
01-22-2008, 10:41 PM
ok great:) np

im going to use 2 of these servos for the turret

HDS-9960MG 136g / 24.3kg-cm / .13sec Servo (http://www.unitedhobbies.com/unitedhobbies/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=6407)

what you guys think about them?

Alex
01-23-2008, 09:31 AM
That was freaky... I got a security warning (I'm using Firefox) that I hardly ever see when I clicked on that site. Have you (or anyone you know) ordered stuff from them before?

DresnerRobotics
01-23-2008, 09:38 AM
I havent heard of any issues ordering from them, I know of some people who have.

Those servos smell of Towerpro however... and I usually stay away from them by principle. I have heard too many bad things about the mg955's, and usually really high torque servos that are cheap are too good to be true. You usually get what you pay for with servos.

Alex
01-23-2008, 10:09 AM
usually really high torque servos that are cheap are too good to be true

That's the same feeling I had on many of their other products when I just now went through their catalog. They (the other products) all look really great, the pricing on many of their products is suspiciously low.

You said that you know of people who have purchased some of their products though. Have they said anything at all about the quality of the products once they received the products?

DresnerRobotics
01-23-2008, 10:19 AM
Well, I know of people on other forums who have picked up the correction: MG995s, which are the token Towerpro servos. They're like 200oz of torque, metal geared, digital and only $8 each. That right there raises tons of alarms.

Basically, you get what you pay for. They have gear slop, they overshoot their target position and don't always recenter correctly. Sometimes you get them DOA, etc. They also have futaba splines, which isn't really advertised well. Supposedly there are some more accurate, higher quality versions (i believe they are known as the MG996?, around the same torque and about $5 more per) that are reportedly a bit better, but still not great.

Overall, super cheap sub-par quality servos. Good for some random project you don't need accuracy for, but not something you want in a high end robot or airplane.

seesoe
01-23-2008, 02:58 PM
i got the same thing with the cookies, but its a secure site.

im new to the servo buying world but, i did read about the mg995's and they were good for power but not accurate. how ever i did hear the newer models are much better.

i bought 2 HDS-9960MG's they were 50 dollars each appose to the mg995 which i can buy 2 for a 3rd of the price of one 9960mg

so we'll see when they come in:D

Alex
01-23-2008, 07:50 PM
Be sure to keep us all posted on your experience:)

El Espada
02-01-2008, 12:13 PM
Just curious on how those servos are working out for you?

seesoe
02-01-2008, 03:42 PM
im still waiting on them to get here, the company i found out is located in Hong Kong i think it was.

but i went to the hobby store and bought to servos and have my webcam on them and im running tests with them, but can't get it to work how i want it

seesoe
04-10-2008, 10:38 PM
well hey everyone, im still alive, i just haven't had enthusiasm to work on the turret or the robot like before, but im still working on it, i just final got to making the turret brackets tonight (just spontaneously said ok screw it i need to make them lol), and i hooked the paintball gun to the brackets, and boy im exited to finish the turret now, what ever it costs.

im back to looking for servo's though the 2 i bought before as you guys were right sucked real bad. waste of money and time.
that all said, anyone have some good suggestions on real strong metal gear servo's, they have to be AT LEAST 300/350oz +? :D

seesoe
04-10-2008, 11:19 PM
how i found a site called servo city, they have amazingly good stuff, i had about 6 tabs of servos' i was going to compare and pick from but then i found servo city, and what they have, i closed all the tabs, and im going to buy from servo city for sure they have some real nice hardware (for pan/tilt).

http://www.servocity.com/html/servo_power_gearboxes.html

this is a real nice piece too
http://www.servocity.com/html/gdp785a-bm_pan_system.html

the prices are reasonable too, they're high but good hardware, so should be worth it.

seesoe
04-11-2008, 01:27 AM
scrap the second link i posted above, because on 6.0V the speed is 7sec/60, thats kinda to slow for my taste, i wish it moved faster the hardware is very very nice and just perfect, but oh well i can do with out.

just wanted to point out that the first link below is to slow to use because of the big gear they use on top, otherwise its the same speed servo because both kits use the same servo's.
http://www.servocity.com/html/gdp785a-bm_pan_system.html

now heres the kit im going to order
http://www.servocity.com/html/spg785_pan.html

I'm going to order 2 of these but with different gear ratios, im not sure which ratios though
i think I'm going to use:
2:1 ratio for the pan
and a
4:1 ratio for the tilt

seesoe
04-22-2008, 08:37 PM
i bought 2 of the 2:1 servos
they'll be here sometime this week

im planning to just direct mount the servos to the gun, but if that doesn't work im going to build a simple turret system with chain and sprocket, i found these things on servocity, and im going to buy 2 bearing blocks from ebay if i go with this method.

http://www.servocity.com/html/gears___sprockets.html

seesoe
10-29-2009, 09:01 PM
Semi-teQ II (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/blog.php?b=203)

Quintus
01-17-2010, 02:09 AM
Very nice!! I have build more or less the same thing but the software is my weak point. Still can not get hold of software like (the Sentry project) anywhere. Do you have any ideas or help?
Many thanks
Quintus

seesoe
01-17-2010, 11:03 PM
thank you. haha yeah welcome to the club:), he made his own program. look into a program called roborealm i highly highly suggest it.

Quintus
01-18-2010, 12:33 PM
Thanks have downloaded roborealm, need to get it working with the rest of the robot.

Quintus
01-18-2010, 12:39 PM
I see that one is always looking for big servo's and they are very expensive.
So i build big servo's from wiper motor in cars. Some can carry up to 150kg of weight.
Still new to this posting thing
Many thanks Quintus

jes1510
01-18-2010, 02:25 PM
Quintus, Build details on converting a wiper motor to a servo would be appreciated. Why don't you write a tutorial?

Quintus
01-20-2010, 10:41 AM
It is very easy. The tricky part is mounting the variable resistor on the output shaft of the motor.
Try and get hold of a broken servo and see how it works. Then when it comes to the h bridge use 4/2 solid state relay's witch the servo ic control (This only work with a 280 degree swing) Other wise you will brake the variable resistor. There are lots of ways, it all depends on how electronic-technical you are.A very simple sample, our amateur radio people uses the very same thing in the antenna rotator system.

It'sJustMe
05-28-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi, long time lurker here,

I just wanted to chime in and mention that the software kit (which contains other things besides the software) is only like $50 (http://www.thesentryproject.com/Software%20Kit.htm). So as long as you're using hobby servos the software part is taken care of. I struggled for a while trying to find this. Hope this was helpful.

Msuper3,500
06-02-2011, 12:34 AM
Hey Seesoe!

I believe your wifi robot is fantastic! Where do you purchase your fastener accessories (screws, sheet metal casings, bolts, nuts & etc...)? I usually order them from Micro fasteners. To date, I have created couple of robots already and two of them are wifi capable... Let me know mate!