PDA

View Full Version : Totally new -Needing advice

Linda
01-26-2008, 01:11 PM
OK, my niece called last week and asked for help on a science project where she had to build a car to go around obstacles. I started looking up websites and one thing led to another and I found that youtube bioloid humvee transformer and I really want one of those. That's just too cool.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8OjwMdn5I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8OjwMdn5I

I think I can do it. I'm an electrical engineer and I've tinkered with fixing/modifying electronic games for years. How hard do you think it is to make one of those Humvees? Has anyone here made one or something similar? I'd hate spend $1000 on a Bioloid comprehensive kit and the extras just to find out I bit off more than I can chew. Are there any cheaper kits that can do the same thing? Any out of the box humanoid robots that can bend over and roll? I'm so new to this it's embarrassing to ask questions.

Any help/insights you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Linda

Alex
01-26-2008, 04:16 PM
Hey Linda, welcome:)

The bioloid kit is the only kit that I can am aware of that has the ability to fold onto itself like you would need. There are other kits such as the Robonova that can bend over and roll, but I don't think it would be possible to mod one out to a hummer transformer. It's definitely an ambitious project, but if you are able to finish it, be sure to enter it in the contest (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/contest.aspx). I'm sure everyone here will help you out a lot on it!

asbrandsson
01-26-2008, 11:36 PM
Hello,

I think that it is a good project, that would be good to do with a Bioloid Kit. However, if you are good with Autocad, you could probably make it cheaper by getting the parts CNC out of aircraft Aluminum and buying the servos and a servo controller. I all comes down to how much money you want to spend to get the end result that you want.

Asbrandsson

Linda
01-27-2008, 01:14 AM