PDA

View Full Version : Hello there!

jrowe47
02-01-2008, 03:29 PM
Hi! I'm a newcomer to robotics in general, although I have put together children's kits before, and worked on a few electronics projects. I saw a video of phoenix and was inspired. She's truly a beautiful machine.
I'm a web designer and programmer, and have a broad range of tinkering experience, mainly on the software side of things. I have already learned quite a bit about robotics in general from perusing the forums, and I hope to learn enough to create a phoenix type bot, myself.

Just a few questions, to start, as my curiousity is boundless... ;)

How fast could Phoenix be made to run?

The servo cables... can they be custom spliced, or are they a specific gauge to handle the power running through? (I ask this because I'd like to do some thin, hollow carbon fiber legs, and if they can be spliced, I can make the legs lighter and skinnier.)

And finally (for now) is there software available that would allow me to design a robot? I can do models and whatnot in Blender, and plan on at least putting together the framework for my dream-bot there. I'll probably use an easy 3D framework like python-ogre and it's physics systems to play with motion and so on.

Thanks for any answers, this is an awesome community!

jrowe47
02-02-2008, 02:40 AM
Another question: Can servo controllers be linked together? Say, if I had a pico-itx minicomputer running, could I connect 2 or more of the SSC 32 servocontrollers to it? I'd love to have 96-128 servos (for a hexapod with articulated arms and a tail, in addition to 4 jointed legs.)

Or are servo controllers a mid-level solution, replacing the need for a mainboard of some sort as the controller?

Again, much thanks for any answers :)

DresnerRobotics
02-02-2008, 06:57 AM