PDA

View Full Version : New hobby robot guy

javafiend
02-26-2008, 09:58 AM
Hi all,

I'm pretty new at this and am still tweaking my $50 robot from the SocietyofRobots tutorial. I'm trying to plot out my next steps and figure out where to go from here. Should I go with kits from lynxmotion or build up from scratch with servos, DC motors, etc.? Anyone have any cool projects that they could recommend?

DresnerRobotics
02-26-2008, 10:13 AM
Welcome!

I'd say it totally depends on what type of bot you want to build, did you have anything particular in mind?

You might check out our own projects section here for inspiration and/or ideas.

javafiend
02-26-2008, 11:20 AM
I don't have anything particularly in mind. A biped would be nice, but wheels are good too. I guess I just want to learn for the time being until I understand a little more about what is available to me. I'm really interested in being able to use things like Roborealm and MS Robotics Studio with whatever it is I build. What good is a hardware platform without good software?

Where is the best place to start for hardware compatible with popular software? So far I've only used Atmel microcontrollers because from what I've read there is basically no software cost for compilers and editors.

DresnerRobotics
02-26-2008, 11:30 AM
IMO, the best hardware platform possible is a bot with an onboard PC, making Roborealm and MSRS able to run locally. Very viable these days too. Check out the pico-ITX platform, they're quite tiny and have a LOT of features packed into them. It's what my own J5 project is based on. A Rover type robot with an onboard PC, cameras, and sensors could provide a great learning tool as far as programming and implementation go.

Matt
02-26-2008, 11:59 AM