PDA

View Full Version : [Project] Andy - just another hexapod (newbie)

ActiveHouse
03-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Hi folks,

First of all, let me shortly introduce myself. My name is Kris, I'm a 34-years old business analyst (formerly a software-developer) from Belgium.
About a year and half ago, I started growing interest in electronics. Last year my wife bought me a small CNC machine as a christmas present. (the colinbus profiler from elektor)
The main goal of this machine, was to mill PCB's, but I allready had some other ideas in mind.
(I allways had an affinity with robotics, I own several lego mindstorms sets (about 6 RCX bricks and one NXT set, with lots of extra sensors)
Because I start to feel the need to "automate" some things in life, with not only electronics, but also partly mechanics, I discovered this forum.

As a first "tryout", I ordered 20 Hitec servo's from TrossenRobotics, and I started drawing in Autocad, greatly inspired by "Phoenix" ;-)
The result is an hexapod, consisting of 18 servo's, and only self-made parts, (out of plexi) and lots and lots of screws, bolts and nuts ;-)

There is no electronics yet (I'm also planning on building this myself),
but the mechanical part is mainly done.
Have a look at the following pictures:
http://cid-59e7d8d59f47de4c.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/Robotics/Andy%20-%20Hexapod/Pictures

- overview_1.JPG is a general overview, with the body in the highest position.
- overview_2.JPG is a general overview, with the body in the lowest position.
- the little spider and spiderweb that you see in top_detail.JPG, are taken from the windowsfont
"webdings" (characters "3" and "8")
- on leg_back.JPG and leg_bottom.JPG, you can see the backside of the servo's.
I did take out the 4 screws of the servo, and "sandwiched" my backpanels between those
screws and the backpanel of the servo.
I did make the servo-brackets "modular", so I can use them in future projects. That is why