PDA

View Full Version : A Software guy in a Hardware world...

Adman
03-14-2008, 02:15 PM
Hi all!

I’ve done a bit of web searching over the past few days, and I’m happy to have found this community! It looks like a really fun, helpful site. Thank you for that!

I’m a professional software geek (currently C#), but I had a dream about creating a mechanical device that was driven using my computer. For my application, I’m particularly interested in either driving a small set of solenoids or stepper motors. As with anything (well, lots of things) in life, I’m particularly interested in “cheap” and “easy”. :happy:

If I prioritize “easy” over “cheap”, then it looks like Phidgets is the way to go. The 0/0/4 Interface Kit looks like exactly what I’d need to drive 4 solenoids (please correct me if I’m wrong). From the looks of it, I’d hook up the solenoids to the relays, and the USB to the computer, and use the software library to make the calls to turn ‘em on and off. Right? Easy-peasy.

I also see the EasyDriver v3 stepper motor controller. It looks easy enough to hook up the power supply and the motor. How do I create a signal to the Step and Direction inputs? I’m assuming it needs some sort of pulse input. If I’m able to output bits from a parallel port, is it enough to simply hook up some of the data lines to those inputs? What else do I need to know?

Finally, if I wanted to prioritize “cheap” over “easy”, can you point me in a helpful direction?

Over the last couple days, I’ve found lots of information on the hardware side, but not a whole lot of information on the actual interfacing with the computer. Phidgets masks it all behind an easy USB connection, which is great. What if I wanted to roll my own, using parallel port output?

Thanks for any help you can provide. I really look forward to hearing what you all have to say!

Adman

cmmguy
03-14-2008, 02:55 PM