PDA

View Full Version : Good robot for programming

zack
04-14-2008, 07:44 PM
Hello!
I'm mainly a software engineer bitten by the robotics bug! I'm interested mainly in programming. What robotic system would you recommend?

I saw the speecys, perfect for a software guy, but the price is waay too high. Something more reasonable?

Zack

Adrenalynn
04-14-2008, 07:51 PM
Do you have a budget in mind, and a "goal"? What interests you - humanoids, crawlers, wheel/tracked platforms for mapping, flying robots, ... ? From kits to roll-your-own parts, the opportunities to explore are amazing these days, imho!

Eric
04-14-2008, 07:58 PM
From a software side.... 3 words
Phidgets, phidgets, phidgets!
Take a look at the tutorials on phidgets and you'll see. It's the quickest way for an SE like you (and me) to get off and rolling!

Matt
04-14-2008, 08:07 PM
http://www.trossenrobotics.com/stinger-robot-kit.aspx :)

mr-sk
04-14-2008, 08:35 PM
Hey Zack,

I'm also a software engineer bitten by the robot bug. I just ordered the SRV-1 and I *hope* that's good for coding.

It looks excellent, running linux and c compiler, plus support for python, .net, etc.

I'll let you know how it turns out..should be arriving tomorrow!!!!

@Matt - I noticed you posted the Stinger, but I don't see a lot of documentation on setting up the accessories...looks pretty challenging. Maybe you can provide additional information about the robot..or some websites of people that have set it up and expanded it.

- sk

Adrenalynn
04-14-2008, 09:34 PM

Do you guys have overall measurement specs - absolute height-length-width - on the kit? I didn't see them, and that's always a concern for me. ;)

Thanks!

zack
04-15-2008, 06:12 AM
Do you have a budget in mind, and a "goal"? What interests you - humanoids, crawlers, wheel/tracked platforms for mapping, flying robots, ... ? From kits to roll-your-own parts, the opportunities to explore are amazing these days, imho!