PDA

View Full Version : C# code for controlling servo with keyboard

bluegear
04-18-2008, 11:45 PM
I'm brand new to every thing about this, I've built robots before but never programmed (I've been working on all the mechanical components) but I came up with an idea to create a robot that i can control over WiFi. I don't have any of the parts yet but i'm about to order the 4 server controller and a bunch of other things. I have the means of controlling computer wirelessly, but I do not know how to program the phidget

What I need help on is writing a program that will allow me to control the robot with a joystick or keyboard, the program will be running on the robots computer so it doesn't look too hard. But i've never programed before so I don't know were to begin, so could some one help guide me through this. I have microsoft visual C# express, but I can get something else. Thanks.
Brian

Adrenalynn
04-19-2008, 12:23 AM
Welcome to the Community, Brian!

You're going to hate me for suggesting this, but...

Sams Teach Yourself Visual C# 2005 in 24 Hours
http://www.amazon.com/Teach-Yourself-Visual-Complete-Starter/dp/0672327406/ref=pd_bbs_11?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1208582360&sr=8-11

Someone will surely share some code with you, but you're not going to be able to modify it to make it do exactly what you want it to do. If you're new to programming, you're biting off a large chunk of project. It's probably time to learn some programming! C# isn't a bad place to start, imho.

Alex
04-19-2008, 12:45 AM
C# isn't a bad place to start, imho.

Most def! C# is a very "middle of the road" language. It's very powerful, yet not as powerful as C/C++, and also fairly easy to learn, yet not as easy as vb.net.

Adrenalynn
04-19-2008, 01:23 AM
That's very much my take on it too, Alex, I think that's a very apt description.

It's also valuable as a web-enabled language.

Alex
04-21-2008, 03:56 PM
Hey bluegear,