PDA

View Full Version : New 6DOF SES Biped Leg



LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 07:31 AM
I've designed a brand new 6DOF SES Biped leg. This leg design might even make it possible for an SES Biped to compete in RoboOne and other Biped type competitions. I have not designed arms yet, but I have designed a body for the full Biped.

Standing:
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/files/1/6/5/7/6dof_triple_double_joint_leg_left_standing.jpg

Fully Crouched:
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=229&catid=newimageshttp://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/files/1/6/5/7/6dof_triple_double_joint_leg_left_crouched.jpg

I think these two pictures show the flexibility of this design. Soon, I will have a complete 3D model of the entire body and legs. Arms will follow at some point as soon as I design them. The hips, knees, and angles are fully double jointed. :veryhappy:

8-Dale

Wingzero01w
04-25-2008, 08:35 AM
Hmm back to this subject again? The only concern i would have with that design is the stability... im worried that the legs would be too tall to support the body unless that as well is big. I would like a design like that but i want the whole ankle/hip on the same axis... this has worked good for bioloid and others and should work with more.

LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 09:26 AM
Hmm back to this subject again?
What do you mean by this? I am detecting some negativity here.


The only concern i would have with that design is the stability... im worried that the legs would be too tall to support the body unless that as well is big.
You have not seen the body design yet, so it is impossible to speculate on stability at this point. :happy: It's much too early to worry about this sort of thing. I presented this design as a new leg design only to show what the possibilities are and how flexible this design can be. I've incorporated quite a few new things into this design, including the double knee joint he designed for the Robonova.


I would like a design like that but i want the whole ankle/hip on the same axis... this has worked good for bioloid and others and should work with more.
There are always other ways to accomplish something. Just because one method works, doesn't mean other methods can't work just as well or maybe even better. :happy: It's far too easy to get stuck in rut and only want to stay with what is already known to work, even if it does work very well.

It's possible I won't bother finishing the design.

8-Dale

Wingzero01w
04-25-2008, 02:03 PM
O sorry i didnt mean to give off a negative feeling to my post :(. And i remember discussing this topic awhile back in the lynxmotion forum with you.

Sorry i was skeptical about the leg design at first... i guess i was jumping off into conclusions.
Good design, though ive tried to make some leg designs but ive always failed at it completely. :(

Matt
04-25-2008, 02:20 PM
Those fold up nicely. Looking forward to seeing the rest of your design.

PS: Any chance you can shrink the pics you post some. They are breaking the forum frames pretty badly. For people not on 19,989x17,456 pixel monitors they are a bit much :veryhappy::veryhappy::veryhappy::veryhappy:

DresnerRobotics
04-25-2008, 02:29 PM
"We're going to need a bigger monitor"

LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 03:15 PM
Those fold up nicely. Looking forward to seeing the rest of your design.
I have to create the model of the right leg, body, and design some arms. I've never designed arms for a biped before, but I have some ideas.. :veryhappy::veryhappy: Brackets for the left leg and body are already assembled. It's the cost of servos that keep me from building most of my designs though, and I suspect I would need some beefy ones for this design.


PS: Any chance you can shrink the pics you post some. They are breaking the forum frames pretty badly. For people not on 19,989x17,456 pixel monitors they are a bit much :veryhappy::veryhappy::veryhappy::veryhappy:
Yes, I can (and usually do) that. I don't know why I didn't do it with these. Can gallery pictures be replaced without changing the link?

8-Dale

LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 03:16 PM
Good design, though ive tried to make some leg designs but ive always failed at it completely. :(
Thanks. :)

What about your designs makes you think they would fail?

8-Dale

4mem8
04-25-2008, 03:22 PM
M'mmmm I look on with interest robotguy, keep those designs coming.

Alex
04-25-2008, 04:14 PM
Yes, I can (and usually do) that. I don't know why I didn't do it with these. Can gallery pictures be replaced without changing the link?Sure can! Actually, kind of a "silent" rule of thumb is to not use the image button (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/images/editor//insertimage.gif) in the toolbar, but use the Manage Attachments button in the Advanced Editor under "Additional Options":

243

This will physically upload your image to our server. You can upload an image either by using a URL, or uploading from your computer.

Also, (if you use the Manage Attachments feature) to specify where you want the image to show up in your post, simply put your cursor in the spot where you want the image to show up, click the Paperclick Icon (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/images/editor//attach.gif) and select your image from the dropdown.


What's really cool about uploading images using the manage attachment feature is that it'll automatically create a thumbnail image for you and when someone clicks on it, it will bring up a really cool looking Attachment Viewing Lightbox (see this thread (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/showthread.php?t=1704) for an example).

4mem8
04-25-2008, 04:17 PM
That's cool Alex, I must remember that one.

LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 04:37 PM
Sure can! Actually, kind of a "silent" rule of thumb is to not use the image button (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/images/editor//insertimage.gif) in the toolbar, but use the Manage Attachments button in the Advanced Editor under "Additional Options":
OK. However, I just want to replace the smaller images of those two big ones in my gallery without changing the link in my message. Is that possible? If not, I will just delete the large images and upload the new smaller ones, then edit the post.

8-Dale

Alex
04-25-2008, 08:09 PM
It looks like you figured it out Dale? Or did you just delete the originals? At any rate, If you go to your image and click the Image Tools dropdown and go to edit image, you'll see a textbox and browse button that will allow you to reupload the image

LinuxGuy
04-25-2008, 08:16 PM
It looks like you figured it out Dale? Or did you just delete the originals?
I just removed and reuploaded. It was easier at the time.


At any rate, If you go to your image and click the Image Tools dropdown and go to edit image, you'll see a textbox and browse button that will allow you to reupload the image
Ahhhhh, OK. I missed that.

8-Dale

LinuxGuy
04-26-2008, 06:18 PM
What's really cool about uploading images using the manage attachment feature is that it'll automatically create a thumbnail image for you and when someone clicks on it, it will bring up a really cool looking Attachment Viewing Lightbox (see this thread (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/showthread.php?t=1704) for an example).
It would be cool if this could be done using gallery photos also. I could link to a gallery image and have a thumb nail for my post that would open the image in that funky box thingy, which I don't necessarily want all the time. It would be nice if there were an option to have that box thing or just open the image normally.

8-Dale