PDA

View Full Version : How to setup a robotic arm (What additional hardware software is needed?)

mr-sk
05-20-2008, 09:15 PM
Hello all,

So, I've got an idea for a robotic arm.

I was looking at the 3x different trossen arms. I'd prefer to get the cheapest one, if it'll do the job.

The website doesn't give much information about how to setup the arm, so I'm looking for some feedback on what is needed once I've acquired the arm.

I want it to interface with a pc..so I'm assuming I can get a USB controller, which I can control via the PC (C, python, whatever). And then hookup that controller to the arm, allowing me to drive the arm from the PC.

My programming skills are ok (I'm a software engineer) but my electronic skills are sub par. I've been learning and building simple circuits lately..but please feel free to go into detail about the electronic/hardware side of this project.

Thanks for your feedback!

- sk

Adrenalynn
05-20-2008, 09:36 PM
>> if it'll do the job

Welcome aboard!

You'll need to define "do the job" first. ;)

mr-sk
05-20-2008, 09:43 PM
Hey Adrenalyn,

Thanks!

Well, the job is to be have the arm controlled by the PC. I'll then be writing some software to run on the pc to automate a process. At first, I'd just want to control the arm manually from the PC. Then I'd move onto writing the software to automate a process.

Is that enough info to get started? I'm concerned about getting the arm connected to the PC, what hardware is required and what programming and hardware resources are available...

heh,

- sk

LinuxGuy
05-20-2008, 09:50 PM
Well, the job is to be have the arm controlled by the PC. I'll then be writing some software to run on the pc to automate a process.
It's important to know what kind of process you want to automate. This could very well affect what arm you need or what parts you need to build it.

8-Dale

mr-sk
05-20-2008, 09:55 PM
Hey RobotGuy,