PDA

View Full Version : Software Newbie

ctx32
05-26-2008, 07:21 AM
Should I take on the challenge of Visual Basic
or the Microsoft robotics software to work with Phidgets.
I'm a REAL Newbie- Bottom Line.
I've played with Vex easyC, So I need the kindergarden stuff.
Thanks

Droid Works
05-26-2008, 09:57 AM
Defiantly Visual Basic. Knowing languages like Visual Basic, C++, C#, ect. Are more valuable than learning any program. With programing lang you can use them on just about any robot and create your own programs. I suggest VB because it is a easy lang to learn and one of the most usefull.

Adrenalynn
05-26-2008, 11:03 AM
I'd go the C# route because it will put you in a position to graduate to C++. It's also more useful for web programming, imho.

ctx32
05-26-2008, 11:38 AM
I downloaded Visual Basics express, Is this the correct version?
It was free and has a Tutorial on how to learn it.
I don't need alot of programming, Just need to be able to interact with the Phidgets.
I'm going to start a thread describing what I'm trying to do, And this way I can get all the help in one spot.
Thank you very much for the help.
Calvin

Adrenalynn
05-26-2008, 12:35 PM
Visual Basic Express will do the job for you, yes.

The express version of C# is also free from Microsoft.

Alex
05-27-2008, 05:22 PM
If you're a newbie and have no experience in programming, don't go near MSRS. Even experienced programmers have difficulties with it. It's an incredibly powerful platform, but the learning curve for a beginning programmer is far too great to even bother with.

You can go with either C# or VB Express. Either one will do a nice job with Phidgets.

LinuxGuy
05-27-2008, 06:06 PM
I'd go the C# route because it will put you in a position to graduate to C++. It's also more useful for web programming, imho.
Wouldn't that tend to lock one into using the Microsoft tools? Hmmm, maybe I should take a closer look at C# if it won't mess me up for using the GNU C/C++ tools.

8-Dale

Adrenalynn