PDA

View Full Version : help with phidget 8/8/8 and EZ1 sensors

rbhutani
05-27-2008, 04:12 AM
Hi!!
I am working with phidget 8/8/8 interface kit and EZ1 sonar sensors. Intially I need to prepare a board with just 4 of those sensors and test a simple firing pattern. I was looking for the stuff on net. Found about how to connect the sensors and use the software available on the phidgets.com to toggle with them.
I am really new to them and I dont have any idea how to run those sensors in a simple DEFINED pattern. I mean how can I control the firing delays and record my inputs.
If would be really kind of you if you can let me know how to program(in c++) that or may be use an interface software for the initial testing to control the firings of the sensors. I have had looked on the available stuff on phidget.com like programming manuals but I am unable to implement that stuff for the firing of diff sensors.
I know I am sounding like a complete noobie but I would really appreciate any help.

Thanks and regards

Rohit:happy:

Alex
05-28-2008, 09:04 AM
I'm not sure about the programming itself, but I think Dave might be able to help you out with the logic. I'll give him a holler and have him chime in on this thread.

Dave
05-28-2008, 11:59 AM
Welcome to the TRC, Rohit :)

Using multiple MaxSonar sensors is pretty simple, but not totally straightforward. Connect the +5V, ground, and analog pins on the EZ to the corresponding wires on a Phidget analog cable, just like you would with any analog sensor. If you only needed to use one sensor, you could stop right here.

Since you're using multiple sensors, you'll need to switch them on and off in sequence so they don't interfere with each other. To do this, run a wire from the RX pin on the EZ to a digital output on the 8/8/8. When the digital output is on, the sensor will take continuous range measurements. When the digital output is off, the sensor will hold until the pin is brought high again.