PDA

View Full Version : New project with automating camera movments

Thunderhorse
05-28-2008, 11:39 PM
Word,

Here is my project: I am essentially building a robot, or series of robots rather, that can move a video/film camera for special effects that call for smoothness and repeatability in camera movements.

As an Electrical Engineering undergrad, I have the background to build the structure, and anything that I don't design myself, I'll probably buy off McMaster-Carr or other third parties (as the motors will need to have higher torque than most of the ones on this site). However, for the brains I have investigated FPGAs and microcontrollers, but both of these lack the same thing: a sleek software application interface. I want to be able to control my motors and sensors directly from my laptop.

That is exactly what you guys have been doing at Trossen (or so it seems), but I don't believe I would be able to use the types of bridgeware you have demonstrated considering that my motors will need to be bigger and such.

Anyway I'm not much of a software guy, which is only to say I am no where near close to what you guys know. Also, I'm on a Mac and would like to utilize OSXs GUI for my project.

If no one has any ideas on this, then even just some information on how computers communicate through the USB and serial ports would be great. Also, I want to get under the hood of my iMac to directly access my computers ports.

Thanks for reading

Ian

Adrenalynn
05-29-2008, 01:38 AM
>> but I don't believe I would be able to use the types of bridgeware you have demonstrated considering that my motors will need to be bigger and such.

Welcome to TRC!