PDA

View Full Version : Robot Simulator

ooops
06-08-2008, 11:01 AM
It was suggested that since I am new to the whole programming “thing” that I should consider starting with a Windows XP operating system.
It occurs to me that I could start building my programming skills and libraries with some sort of simulator since I am on XP with all my PCs anyway. I have searched the threads for a suggestion on where to start with a simulator, but didn’t see one.

Please recommend a good place to start!

Adrenalynn
06-08-2008, 11:17 AM
Today, I just don't like any of the simulation packages out there. MSRS (Microsoft Robotics Studio) is the going thang. IMHO, it's icky. I spent a couple weeks just trying to learn it, forget programming.

There's no universal hardware support simulator today (that's largely what the TROM will be for when it's completed - and the major failing of the existing simulators).

Unless you have something really specific in mind that you want to simulate, start thinking about your environment and what it is you want to accomplish. Then get the simple interfaces for what you're trying to do and start off programming that. If you don't already program, I'd avoid simulators like the plague.

So let's take a step backward.

*Define the problem. What are you trying to accomplish (ie. control some servos (how many?), read a wheel encoder (how many, how accurate), test a bump sensor (how many?), etc)

*Do you have a preferred hardware solution for collecting and/or outputting that data? (Servo Controller is [Phidgets][SSC32][Poulou]) (Analog and/or digital input device will be [Serializer][Arduino][Make Controller][Custom board]), etc

Once we make it that far then we can figure out what languages we support (which may change your decisions) and how we go about learning to communicate with 'em.

I know that doesn't answer your question the way you probably wanted, but that's my opinion.

Adrenalynn
06-08-2008, 11:22 AM