PDA

View Full Version : Writing code on a Mac...reccomendations?

ninjadeathtoast
06-13-2008, 01:44 AM
Hello everyone-

I am brand new to both these forums and programming and detailed electronics in general. I did some basic wiring for my high school's robotics team, but nothing that really got down to the sensor level, and I didn't even touch the code (much to my now recognized chagrin).

My friend has offered to let me borrow some of his phidgets, but I have no way to write code. Does anyone here use a mac to write their code? If so, what do you use? Free is always better, and in my case may be the only option.

Any other pieces of advice would be gladly welcomed.

Thanks!
Adam

Adrenalynn
06-13-2008, 01:59 AM
Here: http://www.phidgets.com/downloads.php?os_id=2 is a list of the environments supported on OSX. Each have descriptive links. Does that help?

BTW: Welcome to the TRC!

ninjadeathtoast
06-13-2008, 02:15 AM
That is exactly the page I was looking for! Thank you so much!

darkback2
06-13-2008, 02:24 AM
I use software called Max/msp...definately not free...but you get 30 days to figure it out. There is a free version called pure data or PD. Phidgets has a whole library of objects for it.

DB

ninjadeathtoast
06-13-2008, 02:25 AM
Already lost, not a good sign...
What do I open to start writing code? I installed the first part, and it works as far as I am concerned, but do I need to have a phidget connected in order to edit/write the code associated with it?

Sienna
06-13-2008, 06:21 AM
Xcode (free from developer.apple.com or on your OS CDs) is the defacto IDE for Macs I believe. I can't wait to get back to having a Mac as my primary system*.

*Right now I use Windows on a custom built box, due to price, and it runs Autocad. Eventually I will get a nice Intel Mac, and then be able to use Parallels and all that :D My current Macs are a G4 and G5.

Alex
06-14-2008, 02:17 AM
hey DB! Isn't your tutorial on MAX/MSP with Phidgets using a Mac?