PDA

View Full Version : So I'm an Airsoft store tech/manager, let me edjecate yous :)

Electricity
06-30-2008, 06:14 PM
Hey guys, My name is Sam Agger, I'm a manager/tech of an airsoft shop here in baltimore md, I've always been interested in robots, but have never found the time (or money) to get started. I followed Sienna back here from an airsoft forum (www.maapr.com) and became engrossed. You guys do some amazing stuff here!
I'm hopping to be able to afford a Bioloid Beginner Kit (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/bioloid-beginner-robot-kit.aspx), but we'll have to wait and see.
Anyways, I'm hoping I can help clear up some misconceptions as far as airsoft goes.
First off, the little airsoft cannons posted in another thread are utter crap, I feel bad for the dude who bought 5 of um! The metal gearboxes are a bit better, with some upgrades they would perform admirably.
First about bb weight, yes there are many many different weights available.
.12g Used for nothing but the cheapest of guns. Very poorly manufactured, often out of round, seamed, or dented.
.20g The standard round. Almost any gun will shoot the twenty. They arn't amazing, but their ok. The only types of guns that would use a 20 as a standard would be an AEP/GBB (automatic electronic pistol, or gas blow back pistol).
.23-.25g The standard round for almost all AEGs (automatic electric gun, re. Rifles, carbines, machine guns etc). The extra weight over the twenty, while it does delay the travel speed by fractions of a second is far outweighed by the fact that the bb flys much straighter, and further. Better accuracy and brush penetration (re. shoots through small leaves instead of bouncing off.)
.28g + (upwards of .42 sometimes) These are sniper weight bbs, designed for single shot sniper rifles that need all the range and accuracy possible.

Next, let me explain a bit about how the gear box functions, Heres a good animated short
http://www.mechbox.com/data/how-the-mechbox-works