PDA

View Full Version : Wheelchair mobility bot help

Mmnimer
03-26-2018, 06:57 PM
http://photos.app.goo.gl/eJAniapz3rQJOX0n2Dear all. I'm working on a project for my niece who had CP for a long time we have had very difficult times going to the beach and making her enjoy her day out. Looking around for solutions I came up with a company called freedom traxx who sell an all terrain mobility device.

Being priced at over 5,000$ which I definitely can afford I went around making her my own version of a sand Stormer as she calls it.

I've purchased all parts made all necessary fabrications and have made huge progress. From this point onwards, this is where I really need all the help I can get from you. I'm not an engineer nor have any technical background but like to use general sense.

I've purchased a wheel chair (made in China one) with a 200W motor. After dismantling this donor chair, I made all the modifications and got a working prototype by using a snow blower tracks system. The problem is that once I added any weight the sand Stormer will not turn. I guess it must be either a motor problem where it is not powerful enough. Another reason can be all the gears and sprocket I've used. Not sure. Might be a battery.

Having a look around I noticed some heavy duty motors like the invacarevTDX storm wheelchair motor and the quantum q6 edge 350w or 1000w motor. There is also another 4500rpm invacarevTDX motor. Could one of those be my answer.

I've attached photos to give you an idea of where I am so far.

jwatte
04-02-2018, 11:12 PM
It has been my experience that home-built options always end up being more expensive than buying the ready-made solution.
The reason for this is that there really is an advantage of mass production; there's also an advantage of having a good design cycle with appropriate tools and testing environments.

Is it your battery, your motor, your control electronics, or your gearbox? Yes, most likely!