PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone ever used this controller?



Droid Works
08-02-2008, 09:58 PM
Has anyone ever used THIS (http://astore.amazon.com/drowor-20/detail/B0007VI1FS/104-4550968-0298305) controller? I am thinking of buying one but I have never heard of them or used them. Any info would be appreciated :happy:

Adrenalynn
08-02-2008, 11:17 PM
Honestly, I held one in my hand wondering how it was selling for more than two times the cost of an SSC32 for half the channels and 3/4 the feature set. I never could figure it out, so it didn't stay in my lab for long...

Droid Works
08-02-2008, 11:38 PM
It says you ServoCenters may be chained together to control up to 256 RC servos. I kind of like the sound of that.

http://tech.yostengineering.com/servoFolder

DresnerRobotics
08-02-2008, 11:50 PM
It says you ServoCenters may be chained together to control up to 256 RC servos. I kind of like the sound of that.

http://tech.yostengineering.com/servoFolder

Same can be done with most serial controllers, I believe the SSC-32 as well.

Adrenalynn
08-02-2008, 11:50 PM
For my money, just slap another atmel in a piece of scrap board and chain six SSC-32's through it... 192 servos is probably "enough" - if it's not, throw another $10 part at it and chain another six. If ~400 servos isn't enough, throw another $10 part at it and get another hundred and change.

I'd rather spend $240 + $10 = $250 than $1080

No direct chaining that I'm aware of on the SSC32, Tybs. One per serial port. But a microcontroller with 3-7 serial ports is trivial to come by and implement.

Droid Works
08-02-2008, 11:54 PM
Can the ssc-32 be chained? I have never heard or seen anyone who has done it. If so where can I find the info on how to do it. I have a few ssc-32s and bot boards laying around.

DresnerRobotics
08-03-2008, 12:03 AM
No direct chaining that I'm aware of on the SSC32, Tybs. One per serial port. But a microcontroller with 3-7 serial ports is trivial to come by and implement.


Weird, Jim's previous SSC's could be daisy chained (I know because my original Hex2 did it) so I assumed his SSC-32 could do the same. You chained them via the onboard serial jumpers.

In the very least if you didnt want to make your own circuit... a Botboard + 8 SSC-32s could be wired up and still be cheap bang-for-buck.

Droid Works
08-03-2008, 12:05 AM
Cool I am going to get to work on it. Its not usb but I can buy an adapter so I can use it with my pico.

DresnerRobotics
08-03-2008, 12:06 AM
Your pico has a serial port too ;)

Droid Works
08-03-2008, 12:14 AM
Your pico has a serial port too ;)

Not mine, http://www.logicsupply.com/products/artigo
I could add one but it would ruin the look of my case. Looks are going to be a big part of the bot I am working on currently.

DresnerRobotics
08-03-2008, 12:26 AM
Not mine, http://www.logicsupply.com/products/artigo
I could add one but it would ruin the look of my case. Looks are going to be a big part of the bot I am working on currently.

Bah! Nothing a dremel couldn't fix. They do include the serial port dongle with the Artigo correct?

Droid Works
08-03-2008, 01:01 AM
Bah! Nothing a dremel couldn't fix. They do include the serial port dongle with the Artigo correct?
No you have to buy it separate. The case looks very cool when it is on all the holes and lines light up blue. I don't want to dremil it cus it will be one of the visible parts just cus it looks so cool...lol

Adrenalynn
08-03-2008, 01:10 AM
"My bot looks fantastic, don't you think?" "Yeah! Fire it up! Let's see it move" "Umm, well, uhh, I can't, see, if I wanted it to do anything it wouldn't look cool" :p

DresnerRobotics
08-03-2008, 01:18 AM
No you have to buy it separate. The case looks very cool when it is on all the holes and lines light up blue. I don't want to dremil it cus it will be one of the visible parts just cus it looks so cool...lol

Wow that sucks, you'd think they would at least give you the stock cables/dongles that come with the bare Pico-ITC board. Might be a pain to find one if you ever want one, they aren't the standard .1" spaced pin headers.

Droid Works
08-03-2008, 01:19 AM
I will take some pics tomorrow of it. Its still in the development stage but you can get an idea of what it will look like when its done. I put $3000 into it so far and another $4000 to go before its done. This bot will have the looks and performance and hopefully get pc robotics a little badly needed press.