PDA

View Full Version : [Project] ArduinoBot



LinuxGuy
08-13-2008, 07:21 AM
I caught this crazy bug from people here to create a new robot and enter some contests. :veryhappy: This is a robot I am building with stuff I have right on my work table and desk. I didn't catch this bug until I had been tinkering with my new Arduino Decimilia for a week or so, so I think it qualifies as already being in my bag of parts. :veryhappy:

This is going to be a crazy robot, to say the least, but I've never been known to go along with the crowd and do similar things. :veryhappy: I have to do something very different or, to me, I won't really be learning about new stuff. I have to do unique things.. :veryhappy::veryhappy:

OK, on to the robot..

I've been looking at the cases CD and DVD media come in for quite awhile, and thinking these would make a nice small robot chassis. So, since I have the Arduino Decimilia and a spare SSC-32 (which is also small), I thought I'd see what I could cook up.

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-top.jpeg
I put some SES brackets together, bolted them to the bottom of the DVD tray. Then I figured out mounting holes for the SSC-32 and attached it to the bottom of the tray between the brackets. Two HS-422 servos are mounted in the brackets, but I can easily upgrade to HS-475's if needed. I then figured out mounting holes for the Arduino Decimilia and added that to the top of the tray.

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-brackets.jpeg
On my Proto Shield, I have a 3-axis accelerometer (Analog Devices ADXL330) and a Honeywell compass (I2C). Unfortunately, I lose two analog inputs to use I2C, but there are so many I2C devices available that this should be the better trade of capabilites. I have socket headers for the accelerometer and compass to allow them to be easily switched between projects. I have 3 analog inputs for my accelerometer, and an extra one I can use for anything else. I've also added some 3 pin headers for the Digitai IO/PWM pins, and did the same for the rest of the available Digital I/O pins that don't have other functions.

The compass is on the left, accelerometer on the right. This is an earlier picture. Since then, I've added more 3 pin headers for all the PWM pins. Initially, my thinking was to provide both 3.3V and 5V I2C (the six pin dual row headers), but I may just go with 5V for now.

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-brain.jpg
My goal is to have as many different functions easily available as possible via 3 pin headers, or other headers as appropriate to the function. Basically, what I am doing here is turning my Proto Shield into a Robotics Shield for the Arduino. This means I'll have to get another Proto Shield for other Arduino projects. :happy:

Back to the robot..

For locomotion, I am going to try something different than anything I have seen here so far. This may have been tried elsewhere and I saw it, but I don't remember that happening. Anything is possible though! I have put together a pair of "feet" using a large circular servo horn and some rubber things that also came with that hardware pack. I still haven't figured out the proper use for these things yet. The "feet" go on the servos and will rotate in the horizontal plane instead of the vertical plane as wheeks would be mounted. I'm anxious to see if this locomotion scheme will work.

I've installed the servos:

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-servos-mounted.jpeg
Here you see the feet and most of the parts that go into making them:

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-feet.jpg
And the servo horns test fitted:

http://www.thedynaplex.info/pics/arduinobot-testfit.jpg
More when I have more pictures.. :veryhappy:

8-Dale

Electricity
08-13-2008, 11:20 AM
Interesting, I'm not quite sure how that will work, but I'm curious to see what you make it do!
And side note.. Great, crack head chick and her crack baby just came into my shop to pull my dog's hair and crackhead the place up..

LinuxGuy
08-13-2008, 11:25 AM
Interesting, I'm not quite sure how that will work, but I'm curious to see what you make it do!
Well, I know what I am expecting to do if I've thought it out correctly. We'll see what the robot has in mind soon enough! :veryhappy: I have a couple different ideas for controlling it, and if they don't work, I'll change the robot until it does work.

8-Dale

Electricity
08-13-2008, 11:27 AM
Are they servos offset at all?

LinuxGuy
08-13-2008, 11:38 AM
Are they servos offset at all?
I'm not sure I understand what you are asking.

8-Dale

Electricity
08-13-2008, 11:44 AM
I'm not sure I understand what you are asking.

8-Dale
The only way I can figure this working, atleast from how I understand it, is if the servos and servo horns are offset a bit so that one edge is lower then the other, to create kind of a shuffle whilst walking. But I may be over analyzing your design.

LinuxGuy
08-13-2008, 02:54 PM
The only way I can figure this working, atleast from how I understand it, is if the servos and servo horns are offset a bit so that one edge is lower then the other, to create kind of a shuffle whilst walking. But I may be over analyzing your design.
Each of the servo horns has four "feet" on them made of rubber sort of spacer things (no idea what they really are for). So the servo horn won't touch the floor at all. I just haven't gotten any more pictures to show detail like that yet. There will be stuff you don't see in the pictures yet.

8-Dale