PDA

View Full Version : Firgelli L12 versus Hitec 5990TG

Vsions
08-24-2008, 07:58 PM
Hi Everyone, I am new to this hobby. I just started building a machine using the Lynxmotion SES system. I am currently waiting to purchase some firgelli L12 actuators for the arms thinking they would be more powerfull than a 5990TG, but I read some one on the forum saying that the power coming from an L12 translates to:

100mm (63:1 reduction): 14N = 50oz
50mm (210:1 reduction): 45N = 162oz

compared to about 416oz. Does this mean that I should stick with the 5990TG? I know there is a price difference, but that is not one of my deciding factors. I thought linear force would be better than rotational force but I am very new to this hobby and have alot to learn. I would appreciate any helpful advice on this stuff. thanks

Dennis

sam
08-24-2008, 08:09 PM
That's waht I thought when I saw Firgelli.First :

Do you think they are small enough for the SES?

Second, it will be different. If you put your actuator 1 inch from the center of rotation, it will give you the specs given. If it is at 2 inches, it will give you 324 oz. in. 3 inches 486 oz.in.

If you want the torque mesurement you must multiply the strengh of the actuator by how far it is from the center of rotation. Thus you get the mesure oz./in or pounds/feet or kg/cm.

The problem is when you put it further from the center, it takes a longer time to get the full movement of the arm. It's not a bad idea. :wink:

4mem8
08-24-2008, 08:18 PM
Vsions: Welcome to this forum, Personally I would stick to the HSR5990 servos, Are you building a humanoid or hexapod? Humanoid will need more Torque 330oz @ 6v and 440oz @7.4v, Just my two cents worth.

sam
08-24-2008, 08:26 PM
Forgot to say welcome! :sad:

If you are new to robotics I would stick with the 5990's. You might be more difficult making precise movement with lianear actuator. you would probably have to make a big part of your code.