PDA

View Full Version : Looking to start with an SSC-32 and...? Suggestions

spiffwilkie
08-26-2008, 10:40 PM
Hi, Im 28 from Memphis, TN. I am a student in CS...and have been for quite some time. I've been out of school for a few semesters due to physical issues but am looking at way to continue my learning until I return. I have been studying java and decided to find a fun project that will help me develop some new skill sets. Before considering doing anything robotic in nature I decided that I wanted to build one of those cheezy USB gun turrets that shoots little nerf missiles. Then I thought, "what if it had a built in camera??"...then, "what if it had a motion sensor??"
My ideas tended to get a bit more fantastical, but I digress...
Googling brought me to look at the phidgets line of products. They seem to be able to do pretty much anything I want to do at a basic level. At the moment , the thing holding me back is the price point. I need someone to convince me to buy some of that stuff or show me a cheaper alternative in the mean time. My main concern is that I get to use my java...and have fun.
Apart from a new interest in robotics, I dabble in FTA Satellite, saltwater and reef aquariums, and arcade restoration and repair.

That's about it for me.
Thanks

ooops
08-27-2008, 08:57 AM
spiffwilkie, Welcome!!! I am not sure of a cheaper alternative to the phidgets, but highly recomend jumping in head first.

sam
08-27-2008, 09:14 AM
Welcome to TRC!

You could always use a Chip like the Atmel 640 or Basic Stamp to create a 'connection' between your inputs outputs and the computer. You would need your computer to have a Serial port to control it. Then your could access it with the coding. I guess since your in CS you could manage this task. In the end it's going to be pretty much the same price thought, plus phigets is USB, wich is great.

Adrenalynn
08-27-2008, 10:58 AM
What phidgets parts are you looking at?

And, yes, welcome to the TRC!

4mem8