PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] How to make a sensing-sphere???

projectgrl
08-27-2008, 10:58 PM
Hi all,

I am new to the forum, and new to robotics, but I thought I may be able to get some advice here...?

I am a university student completing my thesis in electronic devices for occupational therapy. I am designing a squeezable ball, like a stress-ball, that plays sounds when it is squeezed.

I would like to apply pressure sensors to the surface of the ball (under a silicone cover or similar) so that different squeezing pressures on different areas of the surface would produce a variety of audible sound outputs.

The sensors I am considering are 24 Inch Strip FSR Kit (Item: S-20-1000-FSRKT24) or FlexiForce 0-25 lbs. and Resistive Force Sensor (Item #: S-20-1000-FS25LB), however I don't know if they would be suitable... They would have to be wrapped around the ball, and I am concerned that they would not operate underthe non-uniform distortion created by the squeezing forces of the hand.

Does anyone know if these sensors can be applied in this manner? Either moulded into the plastic (polyurethane) surface, or adhered to an internal frame.

Or does anyone know of any other technology that may be suitable? e.g. flexible films / 'artificial skin' pressure sensors etc I am having a hard time finding anything that is not still only theoretical in these fields...

Any advice / information / leads are most appreciated!

Cheers.

jdolecki
08-28-2008, 12:22 AM
What about a solid core with the sensors mounted on that and then and overcovering of some type of compressible material?

This way the sensors have a firrm backing so the will not deform when the ball is
being squeezed.

Adrenalynn
08-28-2008, 12:26 AM
Another thing to note: The sensors are not sensitive on their "tails". You'd probably have to consider putting the tails inside the ball.

How about piezo strain gauges?

Anyway - you can read about the fsr's here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strain_gauge