PDA

View Full Version : My First Machine For Robot Combat

Vsions
09-07-2008, 08:08 PM
Hi every one, I am new to robotics and Im very excited to get involved in this hobby which I have always wanted to do. I started out with one version and then redisigned it once I purchased some 5990's. Those servos are great and incredibly powerful. I decided to create my own grippers using lynxmotion parts because I did not like anything currently being offered. They will also be powered by a 5990. I wanted a very aggresive look and I wanted the oversized claws for melee combat. I mounted a temporary 6mm airsoft cannon but will be replacing it with a good one for actual combat. This is not for mech wars by the way. I plan on doing my own smaller competition with him with very different rules and scoring system. I would like to get involved in mechwars with my next machine which is already being designed with that competition in mind. Hope you guys like it. Im on pause right now till funding is approved by the local government body (my wife) for the final phase of this machine. But all I need right now are the components to build the second arm and a sabertooth motor controller. So without further delay let me introduce you all to my first machine, I think I am going to call it Sampson 209:

This is my first version
http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l456/Vsions/DSC00375.jpg

Now this is the redesigned version...
http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l456/Vsions/DSC00400.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l456/Vsions/DSC00404.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l456/Vsions/DSC00403.jpg

Hope you guys like it..

Dennis

asanist_13
09-08-2008, 12:34 AM
Whoa!!!
This could be the first grappler bot in TRC!!!!!!
Nice work!!!

DresnerRobotics
09-08-2008, 10:00 AM
I dig it.

My only suggestion is fortifying where your torso tubes connects to that hex block on the rotating base. A single L bracket is the weak point for the entire chassis.