PDA

View Full Version : Robonova or Robobuilder

xx2747
09-19-2008, 06:48 PM
Hi,
I'm deciding to get a humanoid robot. I have researched these robots on the web and will try to test drive a robonova on Robotservicesgroup.com, but still need some advice from the owners/experts. (I'm a beginner to humanoid robotics)

Thank You

darkback2
09-19-2008, 07:25 PM
OK...this is a bit of a shot in the dark...but here goes. You say you are new to robotics...how new? do you know absolutely nothing? or do you have some model building experience? The thing is that no matter which way you go pretty much everything is going to have its drawbacks. For example, are you set on a humanoid, and only a humanoid? If so then perhaps a robonova or KHR or basically any dedicated humanoid is the way to go. If you think you may want something more modular that you can change around later, then perhaps you should go with a robobuilder or bioloid kit. Really though I guess you should ask yourself what you plan on doing with the robot, then ask around to find out which robots can actually do what you want them to do.

Alright...good luck, and welcome.

DB

xx2747
09-19-2008, 08:22 PM
Thanks,
I am completely new to humanoid robotics and am planning on just humanoid types. But as far as I am concerned, Robobuilder's Huno model is very quick and has a higher torque than the robonova.It's much cheaper and has smart actuators instead of robonova's rc-type servos. They both have a catch & play function, so I can start with basic programming. Robobuilder also has an object detection sensor, which robonova doesn't have.
Oh, and DB, I also live in Washington.(Edmonds):happy:

darkback2
09-19-2008, 11:17 PM
Super cool to have a neighbor. We should get together some time especially given that you are what a half hour away ignoring the ferry. I guess think of this as the beginning, and not the end, and no matter what you get, be sure you can get where you want to end up from where you are starting...