PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Making a web interface for pan/tilt

madhatter
09-19-2008, 09:10 PM
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and robotics as well. I decided to purchase the Pan Tilt Kit from Trossen (Item #: RK-PT-200), attached a camera, and have been having a lot of fun programming it in C#. I started merely editing the example program to get used to how to interact with the servos. I'm starting to get the hang of it and would like make this more useful. I would like to create a web interface that would be able to control my camera remotely. I would also like to play around with getting it working with roborealm, which I am having some issues with...but that's another story :-P

So I have all of the features created in C# that I wish to have on my webpage. I've seen a webserver feature with phidgets, but I'd rather host it on a LAMP server. I'm new to programming and would like to know if there is a way to easily move my code to something usable on a webserver. I know a bit of java but I want this to be very light weight. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Adrenalynn
09-20-2008, 01:15 AM
Welcome to the TRC!

What servo controller are you using?

Much C# can be ported over under Mono on the unices and C# itself is intended to be very "web-aware". Most servo controllers are simply serial devices with a published protocol, so it's entirely feasible to just do client-server in your language of choice and connect the server directly to the servo controller.

You mention coding against LAMP, but not what you plan on coding in - your thoughts/desires?

Again - welcome!

madhatter
09-20-2008, 02:35 AM