PDA

View Full Version : Wiring the 0/16/16

modularia
09-26-2008, 11:27 AM
Hello,

I am new to electronic wiring and have a quick question about wiring the 0/16/16 interface. Here is what I have:

9 switches
9 LEDs (6v)
1 6v power supply

All that I need to do is connect the switches to the inputs and the LEDs to the outputs.

How do I wire this? Can I use the 1 6v power supply for everything or do I need another power supply for the switches?

I know this should be really simple, so extra thanks to anyone who will take the time!

Adrenalynn
09-26-2008, 12:19 PM
Hi, Welcome to the TRC!

Couple questions:

Do your LEDs already have pull-up resistors built-in? If not, you'll need them.
Your 6v power supply - how many milliamps (or amps) is it able to deliver? In order to answer your question, the current that can be delivered is every bit as important as the voltage.

Switches themselves don't generally "take power" (unless they have lighting built-in to them). Switches are like cutting a piece of wire. Either the electrons flow through the wire (switch) to the device being powered - or they don't. So we need to know how much current we have to source for your LEDs.

Feel free to link to the specific LEDs and power-supply you're using. :)

Again - welcome to the forum!

modularia
09-26-2008, 01:56 PM
Hi!

Thanks for the warm welcome. My LEDs do NOT have pull-up resistors. But I did buy an assortment of resistors. What flavor should I use? My power supply is 600mA and exactly 5.94V (tested with a multimeter).

I am actually using lighted pushbuttons, (not that it makes a difference, because the LED and the switch are separate, so it is essentially the same as have buttons and LEDs). I am using the Happ small round pushbutton

http://www.happcontrols.com/pushbuttons/5400042x.htm

with the optional LED replacement bulb

http://www.happcontrols.com/pushbuttons/91115700.htm

it is the 91-1157-00 one.