PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Which controller should i get???

bodhibuilder
09-29-2008, 09:08 AM
Hey guys,
I need a servo controller for about 7 servos and Iím trying to decide between getting the Pololu USB 16-Servo Controller and the Phidgets Advanced 8 Servo controller.

Which one would you recommend for me, considering Iím new to robotics and I have never done servo controlling before? Which of the 2 has the best documentation, is the easiest to program from C / VB, and has the most resources for understanding how to make it work?

Some of the servos I will be trying to control are:

Hitec HS-805BB Giant Scale Servo Motor
Hitec HS-755HB Giant Scale Servo Motor
Hitec HS-475HB Servo Motor
Hitec HS-422 Servo Motor
Hitec HSR-1425CR Continuous Rotation Servo

darkback2
09-29-2008, 10:25 AM
I have both...well sort of, and have never been able to get the pololu to work. That isn't to say that you couldn't...but I didn't...As for the phidget 8, I have used several phidget 4s...haven't gotten into the phidget 8 yet. The phidget 4s are pretty solid. In using them for several years and out of the 7 that I have only one died...and that was after several years. One problem I have noticed with the phidget 4s is that the first channel is powered by the USB on the computer. This makes that servo weaker than the others at times. My new controller of choice is the SSC-32...its cheap and easy to use, and can control a lot more servos.

Hope this helps.

DB

Alex
09-29-2008, 11:37 AM
With the Pololu, you'll need to send commands via a SerialPort object (not sure what it's called in C). Programming this way can be very fun, but if you're new to robotics and don't know how to communicate through a SerialPort, you're probably better off sticking with a Phidget:)

Who knows though? Maybe someone wrote a wrapper class for the SerialPort commands with the Pololu..

darkback2
09-29-2008, 11:43 AM