PDA

View Full Version : Help a newb get started

xero
09-29-2008, 02:40 PM
Hey guys, great forum you got here. I have been lurking for quite a while and am finally to the point I want to purchase some equipement to start learning and eventually build a rover. Just to give you guys a little background on my experience or lack of, I am a C# developer by trade but have almost no electronics experience. I stumbled across Microsofts Robotics Studio and was fascinated that I could potentially write robotics software in a language I already knew. I have never even met anyone who did robotics programming so I guess it never occured to me that it would be something I could get into.

So anyways, I have decided to build a rover as my first project and trying to decide on what components I need to buy to get started. I have a general idea of what I need but I am having trouble undeerstanding what the pluses and minuses of the different hardware is.

A couple of things I would like to make clear is first of all I would rather buy higher end equipement that I can use on a fairly robust rover down the road and not have to go out in a few months and buy better equipment. Also I don't necessarily need to have API's to program against as I have no problem learning serial port programming but certainly not opposed to using a third party library. And Lastly I would like to first learn to program against these components just hooked up to a pc but eventually have the pc on the rover itself but that is way down the road.

So the 3 options I am looking at so far are...
1)SSC-32 Servo Controller, Sabertooth dual 10A motor driver
2)Serializer WL with Zigbee
3)phidgets

I would really like to not worry as much about money as oppsose to what is really the least limiting way to go.

Now I still dont know what motors to use but I would want them to be robust enough to handle a 25-30 pound load. Also I am having trouble figuring out what to buy for the encoder/encoder readers also.