PDA

View Full Version : 5990TG and HMI



billyzelsnack
10-03-2008, 02:55 PM
I've found a bit of reference on using HMI with 5990TG, but I'd like to know about some real world usage with it. Seems like serial mode would be my best bet.

Can I both read and write positions at 50+ times a second? Will I get full torque when doing so?

Side issues..

Hitec usually is really good about replacing servos for most things other than gears breaking. Does this apply to their robot servos as well?

Can you buy just the gear sets?

Sienna
10-03-2008, 04:15 PM
From the little I have read about HMI, it tends to interfere with servo operation. So while you can probably use it in the beginning when you turn your robot on (to find out where the limbs are), it might be risky to use during movement.

I believe the limitations behind HMI are the reason a lot of people are moving to Bioloid servos.

billyzelsnack
10-03-2008, 08:25 PM
I read about that too, but does it also interfere in serial mode?