PDA

View Full Version : My RoboBuilder Experiance

Rift
10-08-2008, 01:46 PM
Hey all

Since this is my first post i guess i can also kind of introduce myself here. I'm pretty new to the land of robotics my first real encounter was probably back in high school when i was in a lego mindstorms class. Between that and up to last year though i didn't really have any interaction with them. It wasn't till last year when both my dad and I (more so my dad at that point) wanted to explore the use of robotics not only for fun but within his artwork.

His work already involves a lot of computer based stuff so it was only natural to him to atempt to incorporate robotics as well. My part in all of this of course is all the technical stuff as well as some of the visuals that happen on the computer monitors themselves. My dads art background is more traditional while mine is more digital specifically 3d animation. This of course led to the purchase of two lynxmotion arms that we have been working with since last year.

Weve been following the humanoids that are out on the market now for the past year and really wanted to get one while they are at there current stage in evolution. But it wasn't till we got the latest Robot magazine that we saw Robobuilder and decided that, that was where we are going to begin.

We ordered Robobuilder last Friday and it came yesterday morning I had to wait the whole day while at work before finally getting to him! Love the fast processing on Trossen's part btw. So later that evening we finally got to sit down and have at it. When i opened the box i immediately noticed that there wasn't really a whole slew of parts that you would probably find in one of the more advanced kits. Everything was very neat and organized and the whole kit didn't intimidate as much as one of the more advanced kits probably would have.