PDA

View Full Version : How do i get a webcam to work with VB 2008 express???

elios
10-17-2008, 07:56 PM
As the title says, How do i get a webcam to work with a VB 2008 windows form??

what code do i need? (i am rather new to this and i cannot find any code on the internet)
could someone plz write up some sample code for me???

Thanks,

Adrenalynn
10-18-2008, 10:51 PM
What webcam? Does it support DirectX?

elios
10-18-2008, 11:12 PM
Hiya Addy, Its a Logitech notebook Quickcam : http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/webcam_communications/webcams/devices/2989&cl=nz,en : im not sure if it uses direct x

cheers

Adrenalynn
10-19-2008, 12:22 AM
Yuppers. That's a DirectX/DirectShow device.

http://www.quickcamteam.net/documentation/faq/can-i-use-logitech-webcams-for-my-own-application

elios
10-19-2008, 12:43 AM
okay thanks, but i am not to sure on how to merge this with a vb program? it seems to be confusing me...

elios
10-19-2008, 01:00 AM
i dont know anything about C++ and i cant exactly download 1.33GB of proggy editor, when our monthly cap is 5gb between a family of three....

I would kinda like to know if ne body has any code for vb ex. 2008

Adrenalynn
10-19-2008, 03:44 AM
http://www.codeproject.com/KB/audio-video/WebcamUsingDirectShowNET.aspx

There's hundreds of samples that a google search will turn up. That was the most promising first-page sample from a search like: +visual-basic +directshow +camera +source-code

elios
10-21-2008, 12:37 AM
okay, thanks. i didnt turn over much results. all the stuff i found was stuff i had already looked at. I have downloaded Visual C#, is it any easier (if u no wat i mean)?

Adrenalynn
10-21-2008, 01:19 AM
The process is identical. It's all dotNet.

Did you see the source code that will compile and show a webcam display on the screen, doing exactly what you asked, in visual basic, at the top of the link I posted? http://www.codeproject.com/KB/audio-video/WebcamUsingDirectShowNET.aspx