PDA

View Full Version : 25 Years Of Windows



srobot
10-30-2008, 10:11 PM
By the time Windows 7 is released Microsoft Windows will have been on desktops for ~25 years.

Windows 1:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/4/4e/Windows1.0.png/290px-Windows1.0.png (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/4/4e/Windows1.0.png/290px-Windows1.0.png)

Windows 2:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/c/c9/Windows_2.0.png/290px-Windows_2.0.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Windows_2.0.png)

Windows 3:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/1/15/Windows_3.0_workspace.png/290px-Windows_3.0_workspace.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Windows_3.0_workspace.png)

Windows 95:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/90/Am_windows95_desktop.png/290px-Am_windows95_desktop.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Am_windows95_desktop.png)

Windows 98:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/14/Win98.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Win98.png)

Windows XP:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/8/8f/Windows_XP_SP3.png/290px-Windows_XP_SP3.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Windows_XP_SP3.png)

Windows Vista:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/5/54/Windows_Aero.png/290px-Windows_Aero.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Windows_Aero.png)

Windows 7:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/d/d8/Windows7Desktop.png/290px-Windows7Desktop.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Windows7Desktop.png)

From the sounds of it, Windows 7 will be what Vista never was.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_7

Starting with Vista it seems like Microsoft is trying to make Windows a "friend" rather the a "tool".

Are you still using Windows? Why or why not?

I'm using XP because it's stable and is the standard in computing. Vista is just not logical to me, even if you get the OS to run fine.

I will have this tread closed if this becomes a flame fight, please be nice, not every OS works for everyone (that means you BSD users)!

Images from Wikipedia.

lnxfergy
10-30-2008, 10:51 PM
As of the last 3-4 months, my laptop runs Ubuntu, but I still dual-boot back into WinXP to run my CAD modeling packages. Both of my desktops have been running Xubuntu for quite a while (since they are older hardware). My servers all run FreeBSD.

The other family computers include 2 WinXP laptops, and a desktop. Oh yeah, and I have a Mini-ITX running Puppy Linux that should someday turn into a robot....

-Fergs

Adrenalynn
10-30-2008, 11:03 PM
Yack. Every one of those early screenshots brought back memories. "Word" on 2.0a. Eeek. [shiver]

I wouldn't run Windows on any server I care about - but it owns the desktop. That said - Vista is "ME" for the New Millenium. Not worth installing, it'll be long dead before anyone cares [or gets it working]. XP is still the only real desktop choice, IMHO. I do have a few Linux development machines, though.

4mem8
10-30-2008, 11:11 PM
Ok, I have 1 server and 3 desktops and 1 laptop networked with Win XP professional, Never had a problem except the usual format every three years or so to clean things up, tried Vista Ultimate on my Games PC [High end machine] DX10 was good in some games [not many] But in general Vista was crap, And I canned it two months ago and put XP P back on again.

Eric
10-31-2008, 06:35 AM
Microsoft will just forget about that Windows ME mishap. :happy:

Sienna
10-31-2008, 07:36 AM
I wish my desktop wasn't windows... but I can't afford a new Mac at the moment, so it stays that way. (that and CAD packages need it!). The iMac G5 I have has been sitting mostly unused in my bedroom, because it was getting a little sluggish trying to organize a few thousand photos. My Powerbook G4 had the hard drive die.

My eeePC runs XP, and I have been too lazy to change it.

My desktop runs Vista Ultimate x64. Its been running Vista since a few months after it came out, and honestly, I haven't had any real problems. 64 bit XP was never really supported, and because I wanted 64 bit, Vista seemed worth a try. (It helps having a relative who works for MS...) The only thing I *had* to do with Vista was turn off that extremely interfering User Access Control.

jes1510
10-31-2008, 08:47 AM
My main Desktop: XP
Laptop: Dual boot Ubuntu and Vista
My file Server: Linux Debian
Wife's Desktop: XP
Wife's Laptop: Vista

Each OS has it's benefits and drawbacks. I use XP on my desktop because4 I like to play games and it's a couple of years old. Putting Vista on that machine would cause my hardware requirements to exceed the capabilities of the machine.

My wife's desktop is running XP because it is what I installed on it when I built the box and there has been no reason to upgrade.

My Wife's laptop is running Vista because that is what came with the machine. My laptop Dual boots Linux and Vista. The laptop came with Vista and I left it so that I can get familiar with the OS. Plus there are somethings that can't easily be done in Linux that you can do with Windows. Linux is the primary OS though.

The file server runs Debian Linux for stability. Zero maintenance has to be done so defrags and such are simply not required.

gdubb2
10-31-2008, 11:56 AM
My desktop......XP
Wifes Desktop..2K
Laptop............XP
Older box for scanner and pen plotter.. Win 98
Old 486 for DRO on mill and lathe..Win 98
C-64 just cause I still have it...Whatever it runs

Gary

Adrenalynn
10-31-2008, 12:54 PM
>C-64 just cause I still have it...Whatever it runs

I didn't know we could list those. That'd take awhile. I could just dump my database and post it. SGI/Irix? HPUX? Apollo Domain? All the Commodores, Ataris, Apples, TRaSh-80's? Check.

BMoscato
10-31-2008, 02:59 PM
Woops, you guys missed Windows 2000 and Windows Millenium.

sunithaya
01-11-2009, 11:05 PM
That is a jolt of the memory lane! If we include MS-DOS that would be, what 27 or 28 years?

Has anybody in the world (or could it even be) estimated how many human Googol-years has the world wasted because of Windows? I don't mean this as a flame, but simply as an interesting research project. Some people will argue for the contrary (time saved...) well, maybe history will tell.

I do run XP 64-bit Quad-Core because of 3DMax 2009 hunger for multiprocessing, but other than in my other PC's I do have dual boot with Ubuntu and hope to one day soon change entirely to OS when OpenSource 3D programs get there, which should be pretty soon now. Then Windows will be happily buried in the past. All my old computers (both work and personal) that can't run Windows anymore are getting a Fenix-like renaissance with Linux and becoming a Linux-Lab that will end up running all media and comm systems.

My other laptops as well as my wife's are Macs with dual boot Ubuntu as well.

Of the computers I remember fondly (after the Altair!) are the Compupro 8-16 (an S-100 system), the C-64 which supported me and my family for over a decade and first and foremost the Amiga, probably the best computer of its time and then some.

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 12:29 AM
Oh my gosh, you have a Compupro? I have a later CompuPro with the 286's multi-proc (still S100), but I'm looking for an earlier one to add to my collection. I cut my teeth on the Dynabyte and the CompuPro.

[edit to remove potentially proprietary information]

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 12:51 AM
I took the Commodore track in my personal computers -- PET, C-64, Amiga. I was fluent in hexadecimal 6502 machine-language at one point. Porting LightWave to the PC in the 90's was huge eye-opener. Who would ever think that a concept like a "far" pointer would make any sense? An 8086 programmer, that's who. Bunch of freaks.

Don't get me started on [eye starts twitching] ... Windows.

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 01:19 AM
:D My Commie experience started with the 16, my first computer. Then the Vic20, then later the C64 and the C128 (there was a bad idea...). I didn't get into the Amigas until much later - too rich for my blood.

I still have all my Commies, and they still run.

The 8086 wasn't as bad as the 80286 or the 80386 (esp. the SX), IMHO. :)

You worked on the Lightwave port? Awesome!

sunithaya
01-12-2009, 01:32 AM
Max can use those Linux machines as a render farm with the right client.

Oh my gosh, you have a Compupro? I have a later CompuPro with the 286's multi-proc (still S100), but I'm looking for an earlier one to add to my collection. I cut my teeth on the Dynabyte and the CompuPro.

You say the Linux machines can render MAX with the right client> PLEASE explain! I have 15 of those extra CPU's and I am rendering a project that takes 2-3 hours per frame! (1800 frames)

There! I knew it! who else would have even heard of a Compupro? you truly are a cyborg:robotsurprised: I won't ask your age either, heheh!

I loved it. The disk drives required 2 strong people to carry around (they were 8 inch 1mb floopies!) and it could drive 15 terminals...what a pleasure. I wish I still had it. When I moved from SF to Munich I had to dump it! nobody wanted the damn 12,000 dollar frig.:eek: I originally bought it to do animation, believe it or not. I wanted to control 3color LED's and drive a giant billboard to put on top of Mexico City's tallest building (that concept did not exist at the time) Everyone though I was nuts:confused: money did not flow in the right direction, damn!

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 01:48 AM
MP/M was god. :)

Shoot, I may have stepped on an NDA. Would you mind nuking my quote on Max? I'm going to edit mine, and I'll explain via PM. I thought for sure that would be common release by now, but I don't see it on the site. I'll follow up with them on Monday. I think my NDA is long expired on that, that would have been circa 2002 anyway...

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 01:59 AM
You worked on the Lightwave port? Awesome!Yeah, me and a bud of mine started LightWave what, 10-15 years ago. Didn't I mention that on the "introduce me" thread?

Interesting info about a MAX Linux render node. I'm pretty much a 3D industry insider and although I don't keep as fresh as I used to that's news to me.

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 02:07 AM
It appears that it never saw daylight which is surprising because we were doing beta back in 2002.

A couple interviews with DreamWorks saying that they were using it but it wasn't public... That was back in 2001.

I ran my virtual mouth off because I haven't touched it since 2005 and figured it HAD to be released. Doh.

Some reports of Backburner nodes running under Crossover though.

I didn't realize that was you, re: LightWave! I don't know that I saw it in your intro post. Probably me skimming again. I tend to skim some posts and unless they catch my attention I don't read as closely as I might - but I do at least skim *everything* here.

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 02:13 AM
Of course if you're using mental ray, as many MAX users are, it runs on everything. You just have to pay for it. Through the nose.

I also skim. Especially when I come back after a few weeks and find MANY HUNDREDS of unread messages.

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 02:16 AM
MP/M was god. :)I see your MP/M and raise you RSX-11.

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 02:22 AM
I see you your RSX-11 and raise you TSX-Plus

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 02:37 AM
And if you need to catch your breath from laughing, have some pure 1015

And I'll pick you a 1016

[My Vaxxen are to buried to get to tonight... And yes, those are two Elan's behind the Daisy]

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 02:47 AM
Holy crap is that an IRIS? Why the hell do you still have that hunk of junk...

EDIT: Sorry, yes an O2. Nearly as bad...

metaform3d
01-12-2009, 03:04 AM
I see you your RSX-11 and raise you TSX-PlusOK, I fold. I had Vaxen in the hole and you bring out the big guns. Fine. You win.

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 03:14 AM
Don't make me go shoot photos of the Iris' (two of 'em). Or the Indigos (Hey - I've got a Dual R10k!). :)

I collect all my favorite machines from that period. Either that, or I just am bad at throwing out hardware that back in those days cost me so much I wouldn't eat for days at a time to swing buying them :)

How many people even remember TSX-Plus? :)

I still have a PDP-11/24 upstairs. And an 08 in the storage unit. :D

Dementedwombat
01-17-2009, 06:03 PM
I run XP on my computer with a virtual emulator running Windows 98 (because most of my games fail XP). I'm seriously thinking about just buying a junker PC at a yard sale and installing 98 on it.

Adrenalynn
01-17-2009, 06:40 PM
I use DosBox (http://www.dosbox.com/)for classic games. Woot! Go Commander Keen (http://www.commander-keen.com/)! :D

Dementedwombat
01-17-2009, 07:59 PM
I use DosBox (http://www.dosbox.com/)for classic games. Woot! Go Commander Keen (http://www.commander-keen.com/)! :D
I don't have anything quite that old. Age of Empires is about the first game I can remember buying. I did have some fun with the best of entertainment pack though. Chip's Challenge FTW.

Adrenalynn
01-17-2009, 09:06 PM
I bought Keen for every release, waited for each to come out.
The original Duke Nukem was awesome, but went downhill fast. From there it was Doom...

srobot
01-19-2009, 08:57 PM
I received my Core i7 computer from Dell last month (see specs in my sig) and I hope to install OS/2 Warp soon under VirtualBox now that I have Intel VT. Where did those disks go...?

The main OSes I have running (virtually):

DOS 6

Windows 3.1
Windows 98se
Windows 7 Private Beta Build 7000

Linux Fedora

--srobot