PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] VIA PX5000 and battery questions

anandoc
11-02-2008, 03:32 PM
Hello friends,

This is my first post in this forum (after having read various threads) so please be easy on me if I post in the wrong section.

I am a fresh electrical engineer and have been planning and designing a Windows based PC robot for personal learning around the VIA pico-ITX architecture. I have pretty much figured out all the basics except for powering the motherboard. I am not sure what kind of batteries to use for such a purpose (NiMH, LiPo, etc etc).

Also, I am not sure how to make the motherboard "battery-aware" so that Windows can see the status of the battery and shutdown gracefully when the juice runs low (just like how laptops do it). I have bee reading loads of stuff online but there doesnt seem to be any off-the-shelf solution or a relatively easy solution for a newbie.

Any help or tips from you gurus will be highly appreciated. I am just stunned at the amount of knowledge floating around here. Thanks.

A

DresnerRobotics
11-02-2008, 05:29 PM
I already answered your question via PM, but I'll put it out here for others to benefit from as well.

I'm using a 60w PicoPSU with a 6-26v input to power my Pico-ITX board, works great.

Not sure on the 'power aware' thing, I know exactly what you're talking about though. I haven't found a third party solution for it. You'd essentially need the charging circuit guts of a laptop methinks, but the battery monitoring seems to be inherent in Windows... not exactly sure how that one works.

anandoc
11-02-2008, 09:52 PM
Not sure on the 'power aware' thing, I know exactly what you're talking about though. I haven't found a third party solution for it. You'd essentially need the charging circuit guts of a laptop methinks, but the battery monitoring seems to be inherent in Windows... not exactly sure how that one works.