PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] sensors, sensors, sensors!

xx2747
11-02-2008, 11:33 PM
Hi,
As I have mentioned before multiple times, I am a beginner to robotics (I'm particularly interested in humanoid). I've noticed tons of sensors used for the humanoid robots and I'm confused what their capabilities are.:confused: I know that the gyroscope is used to stabalize a robot and keep it in balance, but what do tilt sensors and accelerometers do? Are they the same? Which one makes a robot get back up when it has fallen?

Thanks

ScuD
11-03-2008, 02:08 AM
A tilt sensor is a sensor that senses if it is placed at an angle - be it just an indication of yes/no, or an output stating the actual angle it is at.

An accellerometer measures accelleration, but since gravity is accelleration, you can also use it to measure angles (relative to ground for example, it can be used as a tilt sensor)

A gyro is a device that resists movement, and gives an output relative to the speed with which it is moved out of balance. Say you have a gyro in your hand, and you rotate your wrist 90.
The output depends on the speed with which you rotate your hand, the harder you flick your wrist, the higher the output.

So you see, there's not really a sensor that determines whether a robot has fallen. It's the roboteer who decides what sensor he'll use, to what purpose and on which principle.

You could strap an egg to the butt of your robot and have a sensor detect if the egg is ok. When it's broken, one could decide the robot has fallen. It's all in the way you decide to use your sensors

Alex
11-03-2008, 10:42 AM
[moved to sensors forum]

xx2747
11-03-2008, 08:51 PM
Thanks ScuD,
I've always wondered what all the sensors were used for...
I guess it really depends on how I use them.

xx2747
11-10-2008, 01:18 PM
Now that I know what these sensors do, can anyone tell me what's the difference between sonar and distance sensors?