PDA

View Full Version : High precission axis

bhenriksson
11-11-2008, 02:16 PM
Heya!
I'm new to robotics but my task is simple and I know some programming. I need to control an axis rotating in two dimensions (like a camera that can tilt and pan) from my PC software but there's a lot of pressure on the rotational speed and precission, the more the better.

Any help much apreciated!

Thanks!

Adrenalynn
11-11-2008, 02:28 PM
Welcome to the forum!

I'm afraid you don't give us a lot to go on here. How much weight will you be mounting on this pan-tilt head? What's your minimum desired rotational speed and precision? Space constraints? Budget?

The more information we have on your project, the more help we can all be.

Again - welcome to the forum!

bhenriksson
11-11-2008, 04:26 PM
Hey A:
Fair enough. What I want to do is to point a laser around. I'll probably use a heavier type of laser pen. It's for a video installation where it needs to follow movements synced to music so we're talking about a fairly rapid pace. I then also want to sync this to a video projection. I would guess that from a distance of a few meters I need to point within a radius of something like a centimeter. Is that doable? Money is flexible but I would prefer to end below 150$.

Thanks again.

Adrenalynn
11-11-2008, 05:48 PM
Thanks, Bhenriksson, that helps a bit.

Your budget may be a little low, but within your budget you could get 0.09deg pretty repeatably. You weight is really low which helps a bunch.

High-accuracy servos are pretty expensive. I'd probably start off with something like:

2x HS5645 Servos (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/3295-Hitec-HS-5645MG-digital-hobby-servo.aspx) (60 degrees in 0.18sec, should be repeatable to something close to the 0.09deg) ~$110 total
1x SSC-32 Servo Controller (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/3191-SSC-32-Servo-Controller.aspx) $40
1x Pan/Tilt kit, no servos (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/5226-Pan-and-Tilt-Kit-no-servos-.aspx) $10