PDA

View Full Version : XML Socket

BenBart
11-21-2008, 11:40 PM
I'm a total beginner at robotics, so I don't really know what's what in terms of I/O boards.

What I want to do is connect to a USB I/O board over the internet through a computer that is connected to a Socket-XML server.

I saw the Arduino Diecimila USB IO Board which would be perfect for this because I can do everything in Flash (my bread and butter)... except I have two questions:

1. It seems like the way Flash connects directly to the board is some sort of virtual Socket-XML, would this mean that I wouldn't be able to connect to my other Socket-XML server online because the connection would be used to communicate with the board?

2. What is the delay from the software to the actual I/O board? Are we talking seconds, miliseconds, or minutes?

Is there a better alternative in your opinion? I programmed in VB6 and C++ years and years ago and could pick it up C or VB.NET, but then I have to buy the software :-) (I'm also downloading Microsoft Robotics Developer Studio Express Edition for free, but I doubt it supports Sockets.)

MikeG
11-24-2008, 02:28 PM
I think you are asking, How do I control an I/O board that is connected to my internal network from a page on the Internet. If so there are a few approaches. An easy method is to setup port forwarding on your local router to the PC that has the I/O board attached. Depending on your ISP you might need to signup for dynamic DNS update client like no-ip.com.

Here a working example all XML services.
http://www.crustcrawler.com/products/smartarm/remote/ccvideo/index.php

BenBart
11-25-2008, 07:23 AM
That's cool. That wasn't exactly what I was asking. But also a good way of going about it.

I've done a lot more research about boards and what's what. I think I'm going to use a Phidgets controller. Instead of a I/O board because there's no delay and no need to reprogram the chip. I can access the servos directly. And I can do it from Flash.