PDA

View Full Version : Full size robotic leg???

Jman26
12-02-2008, 04:43 AM
Hi All

I'm looking into the idea of building a sizable robotic leg with significant power to lift 55- 60 kg I'm an Aussie so that's about 130lbs. Does anyone have any experience with this? is it workable??? as the battery power is one thing.

What I was looking at for starters was the Dynamixle RX 64 (possibly the Ex 106 if required) for the hip and knee joint then the RX 28 for the ankle. I have checked the motor rating and they should be able to do the job. The prototype will only need 3 servos to start with, then also the CM 2 Controller and possibly an accelerometer and other sensors. The power will be provided by lithium ions possibly one or two 18.5V 21AH batteries from battery space they weigh 2 kgs (4.4lbs) each, and then a smaller battery for the controller. The frame itself will be either steel or carbon fiber depending on weight etc.

Any Ideas or suggestions??? I'm only a newbie to most of this so any help is appreciated.

Jarrod

DresnerRobotics
12-02-2008, 07:32 AM
Sounds like an ambitious project!

Now, just to put things into perspective: the EX-106 would meet your stated lift requirements if you kept its lever at 5cm, but you'd end up with quite the short leg. Anything longer than that and you would need something even more powerful. The ankle is a pretty high stress area as well, so a lower rated actuator would not suffice there. How much flexibility do you need with this leg? Most robot legs have a minimum of 5 degrees of freedom, only having 3 would limit your movement considerably. If its just something you need to lift perhaps look at a simpler design overall.

Adrenalynn
12-02-2008, 01:00 PM
Good post, Tyberius!

This is the realm of pneumatics and hydraulics, not hobby servos, I'm afraid. Welcome to the forum, BTW! :)

ScuD
12-02-2008, 02:42 PM