PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Mechanical Structure of Biped

snow
12-30-2008, 12:14 AM
Hi, I am new in robotics, and I am going to do a biped for my final year project,
but I am stuck in how to calculate the mechanical structure:confused:, If someone heres know how to calculate, pls help me.... many many thanks...

lnxfergy
12-30-2008, 12:45 AM
"Calculate the mechanical structure"

I would suggest being more specific. To me, that could mean anything - are you trying to figure out how strong your servos need to be? If so, what is the load they are carrying, what is the configuration of the legs, torso, and arms, are you planning to use any kit parts or do you plan to chop this out of aluminum bar from HD?

-Fergs

Adrenalynn
12-30-2008, 01:33 AM
Or the strength/rigidity of the structure? Or the speed with which it will move? Or... ?

I agree with Fergs - a little more specific would help.

Welcome to the forum, BTW!

snow
12-30-2008, 10:28 AM
Thanks for reply.

I am not going to use any kit parts, actually my questions is.... the length,the width, of the foot and leg, to make it balance, it should have some calculation, right?

I am quite confuse now...maybe I should ask even I know is a stupid question... what is the first things should i do on building a robots?

Thanks a lot.

DresnerRobotics
12-30-2008, 10:53 AM
There isn't, as far as I know, some magic equation that calculates the exact dimensions you need.

Look at it this way: in nature there are plenty of various leg designs, all with different strengths, weaknesses, and purposes. Robotics isn't too far different in that many different designs can be used to accomplish the same goal (mobility) with varied strengths, weaknesses, etc.