PDA

View Full Version : Holiday Goodies



MSpurk
12-31-2008, 07:03 PM
So did anyone get any good gifts this Christmas/Hanukah/Kwanzaa/etc. this year? It was hard to convince Santa to bring me parts for a robot designed for death and destruction, but somehow I got through.

I picked up a pair of HS-8498 servos, and just purchased a new SSC-32 servo controller with my holiday cash. Now to actually start building stuff.

-Matt-

elios
12-31-2008, 07:11 PM
robot bits.... does that include a hammer???? if so then yes lol.

im going to be buying some bits for a good gaming machine with the xmas monies, so i can finally play crysis (YARHWWOWFJOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! -> cant wait)

Rudolph
12-31-2008, 07:29 PM
Got a pile o' electronic tidbits. Some AVRs and an AVR programmer, crystals, caps, diodes, couple H bridges, some 7805s, FTDI usb-serial cable, PING))) sensor, couple Sharp IR rangefinders, a few (cheap) servos, couple new breadboards...

Oh, and a new trackball mouse, so hopefully my wrist will stop clicking all the time from using a "regular" mouse :)

Adrenalynn
12-31-2008, 09:35 PM
My one-and-only christmas/birthday gift is supposed to arrive on 1/6 now... 12 days from IL to CA... GO UPS! Woot! Maybe look into some turbo-chargers for your snails. :rolleyes:

sam
12-31-2008, 10:09 PM
so i can finally play crysis (YARHWWOWFJOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! -> cant wait)

Once your up and running, we'll play together! :wink: The only problem is that I can only run it half of the stuff high and the other half low, otherwise I slow down and it's anoying. Graphics still best I've seen.

I got some money. Bought myself a Tri-track chasis, motor controller (2X10 sabertooth) and IR range finders. I also bought some voltage regulators (WOOT!), diodes and all the other bells and whisles.

It's 2009 in 50 minutes!

elios
01-01-2009, 12:29 AM
lol. its been 17 hours since mid night. lol. im in australia atm, slept into about 11.40am oz lolololol. not sure if i can get away with using onboard graphics??

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 02:52 AM
Onboard graphics for Crysis? Ummm - no. Maybe at like 640x480 with everything turned off...

Plays pretty well on my dual 9800GTX though... ;)

sam
01-01-2009, 09:18 AM
Onboard graphics for Crysis? Ummm - no. Maybe at like 640x480 with everything turned off...

Plays pretty well on my dual 9800GTX though... ;)

too bad that resolution can't be used on Crysis :o

You need something reasonably good. Do you run it on High Adrenalynn(very high?)? Do you have Vista with DirectX 10?

sthmck
01-01-2009, 10:03 AM
Are we talking Crysis or Crysis Warhead? oh and as far as holiday goodies. I am going to order a bioloid comprehensive kit, and a gumstix. Just not sure which yet.

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 02:31 PM
All settings maxed, quad core machine with DirectX.

4mem8
01-01-2009, 03:28 PM
I run Crysis on vista DX10 card maxed out also, runs really good. Great game. Have finished both Crysis and Crysis warhead. Playing it again for the second time.

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 03:36 PM
I don't actually PLAY them. I just load them up and run around for a little while to keep my finger on the pulse of where technology is going.

elios
01-01-2009, 04:02 PM
okay. thanks.... do i need a graphics card if i am to use:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=372507
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=365813
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=369511
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=365702 ??

darkback2
01-01-2009, 04:07 PM
I got an automated (robotic) litter box. Not the one you have to empty...this one grinds up all the kitty poo and pumps it into a toilet...Given that the wife has 4 cats, and seams oblivious to the litter boxes (we had two) this was more of a gift to myself than for her. I also got an SSC-32...and permission to get another servo controller...I'm thinking the one that comes in a robonova.

DB

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 04:10 PM
yup...


okay. thanks.... do i need a graphics card if i am to use:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=372507
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=365813
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=369511
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=365702 ??

sam
01-01-2009, 04:42 PM
I don't know for a moment I thought you said nope... Got me nervous there!

Your central processors won't be able to handle the WHOLE game PLUS your graphics, esspecially that it's dual core. If you want to pull FULL advantage of the game, you will have to go with Windows Vista because it is the only platform that takes DirectX10 which the game was made to go with. I would recommend looking at the Alienware Area 51. Good gaming console for the price. You will be able to run Crysis pretty well. Seems that if you buy your parts seperate, you won't be able to get as good a price.

Just a question Adre: I know that a lot of software including a lot of games run only on one core of the processors. Image processing is one of the programs that I know takes advantage of a 4 core processor. Does Crysis run on 2 or 4 cores? Did anyone do any benchmarks of your platform running Crysis?

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 05:24 PM
Well, the only way they would do any benchmarks on my platform is by coming over to my house and doing them. I would never buy a pre-built machine. Five times the money for 1/5th the performance - especially when you put the Dell sticker - errr, I mean "Alienware" sticker on it...

CPU utilization shows a fairly even spread across the four full cores, and spiking on the four additional virtual cores.

Modern programmers not threading their applications should be in unemployment lines...

And it really doesn't matter how fast the CPU is - it's going to have a hard time running-down a dedicated 256bit GPU with quad-ported memory... Toss two of them in SLI in a machine, and it's "game over man"

sam
01-01-2009, 06:08 PM
Well, the only way they would do any benchmarks on my platform is by coming over to my house and doing them. I would never buy a pre-built machine. Five times the money for 1/5th the performance - especially when you put the Dell sticker - errr, I mean "Alienware" sticker on it...



Humm... I don't know. When I go to Dell, Bestbuy or futureShop, I could build a much better PC for the price. But, I have trouble seeing that this computer (http://www.alienware.com/customize/area-51-750i-desktop.aspx?SysCode=PC-A51-750I&SubCode=SKU-DEFAULT @1050$) Could be bought in seperate pieces for the price. Just the Intel core 2 duo E8400 is 330$. Add a motehrboard (292$) Hard drive (100$ at least) video card (at least 300$) power suply (at least 200$). Youve already passed that 1050$ without RAM, keyboard, mouse, windows vista...

*Prices taken at : http://www.ascent.co.nz/index.aspx, If you've got another place with better price, please tell :veryhappy:. I took the piece with the cheapest prices that had the alienware computer specs.

Please tell me if I'm wrong (before I buy a PC :tongue:). I was counting a long time on buying and building my PC, but that computer looks like a pretty good deal.

Maybe when you go higher end the difference is much bigger...

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 06:27 PM
pricewatch.com

Adrenalynn
01-01-2009, 06:41 PM
For $1050 you're getting 2GB of 800FSB RAM, a 3Ghz duocore, and a 250 GB HD.

The HD is worth $42 (Not $100+), the RAM is worth $26, a better mobo and same processor can be had for $200 total (not $330 for the processor alone).

So let's see here: 200 + 42 + 26 = 268. That leaves us $750ish to get a case, power supply, keyboard, mouse, and DVD drive, right?

Piano Black Chiefmax case with 650wt power supply: $52
Dual Layer DVD +- RW = $25
Drop $25 and $35 on top of the line gaming mouse and keyboard respectively.

Call it another $150 : 750 - 150 = 600

Now we'll decimate that system you quoted and throw another 2GB of RAM in it, and a good gaming card, let's say a 9800GTX

$25 + $208 = call it $235

600 - 235 = $365 left. Go wild. Buy yourself a decent 22inch LCD.

On a one day deal (they come around often, check dodtracker.com ), I just picked up a Velocity Watercooled Quadcore with 4GB of RAM, 750GB SATA2 drive, dual layer burner, and a 9800gt out the door shipped for $749. That was just a week or so ago...

sam
01-01-2009, 07:07 PM
:robotsurprised: That just blew my mind! I could invest a lot less than I expected for the same computer, leaves more cash for robots! Thanks for the site!

Indeed with prices like that you can do a lot more by building your own PC. For the same price at best buy you get a crapppy machine! Now to see if there is a canandian site with these prices... :tongue:

jes1510
01-01-2009, 07:54 PM
www.newegg.com has a Canadian arm I think.

elios
01-02-2009, 12:39 AM
kwel. glad i helped..... lolz

jes1510
01-02-2009, 01:13 AM
My wife saw me bending a plastic bracket with a cigarette light a couple of weeks ago so I got a shiny new heat gun. She also bought me a set of craftsman screwdrivers and a Li-Ion Dremel.

4mem8
01-02-2009, 03:39 AM
Here are my gaming specs, I always build my own PC's, it costs you more here in NZ to do this for obvious reasons, but you get what you want. Here (http://robosapienv2-4mem8.page.tl/Ultimate-Gaming-PC.htm?PHPSESSID=a5c0b17ba368f2d6b90ec4607d7303b5) .

elios
01-02-2009, 04:27 PM
thanks Mike. I'll have to organise a day for crysis lolzz.... ;-)

4mem8
01-02-2009, 06:07 PM
Sounds cool to me, a 3 some, Jamie myself and you, You should also install HL2, we have a ball with that one.

Obscene
01-12-2009, 03:38 PM
I'm playing Fallout 3 on a quad-core system with 4gig RAM and an EVGA GTX 295 on a 40" Samsung A650 LCD at 1080p. FULL HDMI BABY, YEAH! Ok, settle down. The drivers I'm using are a little quirky, probably because they're brand new for this card, but everything looks great. Fallout 3 isn't multiplayer but it's quite possibly, hands down, the best game I've ever played.

It's a little slow getting started out, but the sheer amount of customization you can do with addons and command-line with Bethesda games is amazing. It's like a futuristic post-apocalyptic version of Oblivion with retro-1950's stylization. If you love open-ended RPG's with more quests and exploring than you can handle, Fallout 3 is simply amazing.

Now we just need to figure out a way to make it multiplayer! I'm sure with all of the addon-esque abilities that the game comes with, someone could program something to allow for this.

Dementedwombat
01-12-2009, 06:30 PM
I've still got the same crummy computer I always had, but I got a nice tool kit for my Jeep and also a really cool scale model of a Mercedes SLR. I just wish I would have known about Mech Wars sooner so I could have pestered my parents about robot parts :).

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 07:13 PM
I got two AX-12's and an HUVRobotics interface board for 'em for my crisday. (Combination Christmas and Birthday) :)