PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Half PDA/Half Desktop PC

DanTheMan
01-07-2009, 10:56 AM
Hi,

Not a frequent poster on this forum but I have been here before and got a really helpful response so I thought I'd drop another question.

I am now about to begin a project basically simulating a PDA. By this I mean all of the processing power, memory storage, everything other than user input and display will be from the computer - but I want the unit that is held to simulate that of a PDA/touch screen phone. I don't think I've explained this very well but basically I will need a small touchscreen lcd with a little keypad and some way of bringing them together in one hand held unit (obviously not a portable one) connected to the computer from which the software will be ran.

This is for a university project. However, the degree I am studying is software engineering and doesn't touch upon and hardware issues or electrical engineering really so by getting help on this side of things I'm not really cheating.

The reason I am restricting myself to only purchasing the keypad, vdu (whatever it may be) and casing is because of money (mainly, the lack of it!). I assume that buying the full typical kit of what a pda would have would cost a lot of money and I'm not familiar with programming these.

Thanks a lot in advance!!

Dan ;)

lnxfergy
01-07-2009, 11:28 AM
A few more specs would probably be good to drive our recommendations, for instance: do you require a color screen (which would probably double the price), what do you mean by keypad - a full keyboard? I think it might be tough to find a PDA-like keyboard unless it is surplus from an actual PDA. The hard part of all of this is "interface to the computer", since your PC at best has a parallel port and a serial or two (plus some USBs).