PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a rookie?

MSK Mech Commander
01-12-2009, 08:22 PM
Hey, I'm new to the TRC. Any advice for building a mech?
I'm planning on using the Bioloid kit for starters. I still haven't decided between the cameras on the mech resources page. I'd like to know differences and advantages.
Also, I'm very new to the whole robotics thing and I don't have that much cash to spare on extra parts.
On another note, I'm planning on going to the 2010 competition. It seems I caught wind of this just a little bit too late to get ready for the first year.
If you know of any texts that can give me a good overview of humanoids or you have good advice yourself, please let me know!:D

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 08:24 PM
Naw, you can build it in time!

I won't really get started on mine until March. Bits and pieces next month, but in March I'll be able to focus on it.

DresnerRobotics
01-12-2009, 09:47 PM
I honestly haven't updated the parts list in quite some while, so I'd recommend reading through some of the threads in the Mech Warfare forums and looking at the discussions on guns and cameras, specifically the wireless video thread (on my netbook in the airport, so im not going to hunt it down right now :P ) I think Jes had the winner as far as the best camera for the money, was a Trendnet 110 I believe.

As far as rookie advice... programming, programming, programming. Find a language youre comfortable with and will work with your robot's hardware and learn it as best you can. The stock bioloid software most likely will not cut it for this competition.

MSK Mech Commander
01-12-2009, 10:12 PM
Thanks!:D
Oh, by the way,
I've had some experience with PBASIC programming and the boe-bot.
Do you think that would be a good one?

What's different about the guns? I've seen some references about other guns but all i've seen is the VsTank guns from the parts link

Adrenalynn
01-12-2009, 10:15 PM
Well, the boe-bot is kinda right-out. No wheels allowed. :)

DresnerRobotics