PDA

View Full Version : Purchased 3-axis looking to get data

Researcher
01-21-2009, 12:29 PM
Hello:

Newbie here. Just purchased a 3-axis and ran the Phidget program and saw the data.
Can anyone direct me to a simple Java or VB program (or any program) that will record the data?

Thank you.

jes1510
01-21-2009, 12:54 PM
How is it being delivered? Over a serial port? What does it look like? What is a 3-Axis? Which operating system?

Researcher
01-21-2009, 12:57 PM
Sorry, using the USB ready phidget 1059 device on vista.
Any advice is appreciated.

Adrenalynn
01-21-2009, 01:03 PM
Would that be the three axis accelerometer or the three axis compass?

jes1510
01-21-2009, 01:07 PM
I'm going to assume the Accelerometer. I assume that it doesn't use true USB, instead it uses an FTDI style glue logic. If that's the case then just open your serial port with a terminal.

Researcher
01-21-2009, 01:36 PM
I actually purchased an accelerometer just like this from trossen:
http://www.hvwtech.com/products_view.asp?ProductID=135
It came with the USB plug.

when you say open a terminal do you mean open a windows terminal?
I downloaded Eltima terminal software and only had access to a com port and TCP (modem)
usb was not an option.
Thank you

jes1510
01-21-2009, 01:44 PM
I'm talking about something like hyper terminal. When you connect the phidgets board to your computer does windows detect a serial port? You can check this by looking under "Ports (COM and LPT)" in the device manager. If so then you can just treat the data like anything coming down a serial port. This is mostly conjecture since I don't have a phidgets board.

Adrenalynn
01-21-2009, 01:52 PM
Windows terminal will work, I recommend RealTerm - http://realterm.sourceforge.net/

It has great logging - even time date stamping and hex logging.

Researcher
01-21-2009, 01:52 PM
I see.
Looks like Vista's device manager recognizes it as a "USB Human Interface Device."
No options to get in like a terminal. Any thoughts?