PDA

View Full Version : New guy on the block

Maverick_Hunter_X
01-31-2009, 01:19 AM
I read about mech warfare in Robot Mag and I just had to check it out. I have always been a techie and I always got in trouble because I would take things apart and mod them or create something new. This mech war concept is a lifelong dream of mine and this makes me so happy to see this thing become reality. Whoever made this happen, I thank you.

I am a Computer Networking student from Indianapolis. I dont have much robotics experience other than Lego Mindstorms and a few small things that I have built. However, I am ready to learn everything that I can. I am wanting to order some books and maybe a kit like RoboBuilder.

I have tons of experience with homemade ballistics such as aircannons and homemade bb guns. I also have several airsoft guns around here somewhere. So weapon systems are no prob for me.

I just wanted to introduce myself and give a brief background. I will be on the forums as much as I can and if you have any weapons questions, please shoot them by me.

DresnerRobotics
01-31-2009, 02:06 AM
Greetings! Glad you liked the article. :)

There is a lot of content here, so starting out can be a bit daunting at first. Read over the website, read through the stickies (at least the first posts in them) and then just start looking around. Check out what other people are doing, what is working for them. If you plan on competing this year, I wont lie to you, you have a LOT of work to do and not much time to do it.