PDA

View Full Version : Cheap head tracking unit

wind27382
02-05-2009, 09:06 AM
Well it's been a long time since I've been on these forumn. I'm not an engineer inf act I'm more of an artist, but I have been trying to create a head tracking unit for a personal project, and I wanted to have you guys advice.

I'm thinking about using a
PhidgetAccelerometer 3-Axis

and of course
InterfaceKit 8/8/8

so far I'm planning on using them to track the rotation of my head movements. I plan on ordering the parts for my simple head tracker today so I really want to get some advice before i spent the money and get the wrong thing. right now my budget is around 200 dollars. it is my goal to build a simple head tracking unit for under 200 hundred dollars. I will also need it to hook directly into my computers usb drive.

darkback2
02-05-2009, 10:17 AM
You may want to use multiple tracking methods. Check out the stuff posted on using a wiimote...If your using a computer anyway you can use a wiimote to track your head position.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jd3-eiid-Uw

Hope this helps.

DB

wind27382
02-05-2009, 11:50 AM
it helps but i didn't want to use a we remote. I wanted to use my own customize equipment.

besides this is only the first step of the project. I'm originally a 3d artist who wants to be a part of virtual reality. i feel that it will be the future of gaming. here is the steps that I will take

head tracking
first head tracking- simply getting a camera to be able to turn left and right with you head movements.
second finish head tracking- getting the camera to be able to left up and down.
thrid finishing touches- such as extra features such as adding a distance sensor

head mounted display