PDA

View Full Version : Mounting electronics to lexan

xero
02-06-2009, 11:19 AM
Hey guys, I am having trouble figuring out an easy way to mount my electronics to a sheet of lexan. I tried buying some spacers but the screw size is to big for the controllers I am mounting. I am trying to mount a ssc-32, a sabertooth motor controller and a serializer. I am a total noob so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

darkback2
02-06-2009, 11:25 AM
Easy way that probably doesn't look that good...velcro. Its lexane so you shouldn't have any grounding problems. Just slap a peice of velcro on the chip, and another on the lexane. Done and done.

Another way...probably the right way is to make a template of the SSC-32's hole pattern, then transfer it to the lexane, then drill out the lexane without cracking it (drill from both sides or scuff the lexane where you are going to drill or use tape and a backing board...) then get those wicked tiny spacer screws that come with the ssc-32 standoff kit thingy which is available from this website, and put it all together.

I'm sure there are reasons not to just use velcro...

DB

Quantum
02-06-2009, 11:38 AM
Make a template on paper or cardboard. Tape it to the lexan and drill your holes. Use a tiny bit for the first hole and go up in size. This will help prevent cracks plus its easier to drill that first small hole than doing your final size.

Then when enlarging the holes increment the bit sizes till your final size. This helps prevent cracks by taking small amounts of lexan out.

Paul

Adrenalynn
02-06-2009, 11:58 AM
On the SSC32, a #4 nut won't contact any pads or joints and makes a good spacer:
#4 screws, nuts, washers are available in numerous lengths from your local big-box home improvement store.

Here's an Arduino mounted with #4 screws through #6 nylon stand-offs with #4 nuts and washers attaching it to the Lexan. #6 stand-offs are the smallest my big-box home improvement stores carry - they work fine though.