PDA

View Full Version : Kondo servos/wiring



Kondo Dave
02-09-2009, 09:15 AM
Hi, just a quick question regarding servos.
I am looking to add extra servos to my khr 2hv to enable some kind of hand movement. But i need smaller servos. Are there any that will work straight out of th box with it?
I just want a small servo i can connect to the rcb and then get to work with h2h. Is this possible?
I dont know much about electrical sides of things, i am more design and build. And i am trying to design some hands with moveable fingers.
They would not need to be overly powerful, obviously due to size, but the kondo servos are too big.


Also another question, i have got all my wires bundled up in the bcak of the khr2 but they really seem to be a tight squeeze in there. Is this normal? I mean my rcb is over to the left ready for my rev 1 and wireless controller, but all the wires just seem to be pushing really hardone everything to try and escape?

Thanks in advance.
Dave

Atom
02-09-2009, 09:57 AM
I think you should be able to use just about any Digital servo although you will have to use a voltage regulator as the power output of the rcb3 is 10-11v and would blow out most low voltage mini servos.

Kondo Dave
02-09-2009, 10:29 AM
Ok , cool, so how do i add a voltage regulator?., Sorry not electrically minded like that im afraid!

Adrenalynn
02-09-2009, 02:01 PM
http://www.castlecreations.com/products/cc_bec.html + http://www.castlecreations.com/products/castle_link.html to program the regulator if you want 6v instead 5v.

Kondo Dave
02-10-2009, 07:00 AM
Hi , just wondering if this would also do the same job as the one above?, Based in uk and couldnt find them over here.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370149268394&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.co.uk%3A80%2F%3F_from%3D R40%26_trksid%3Dm38%26_nkw%3D370149268394%26_sacat %3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1 (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370149268394&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.co.uk%3A80%2F%3F_from%3D R40%26_trksid%3Dm38%26_nkw%3D370149268394%26_sacat %3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1)

Also do i have to have digital servos or would analogue work? I thought it would be digital only.
Also still confused how to connect this all up. the red black wire goes to battery somehow, then the other wire is meant to go into a receiver and servos out of that but on the rcb what goes where and what does what- aaaarrrgh head imploding.

Also has anyone managed to ut arm rotation onto a kondo yet? I mean arm rotatoin at say just above the elbow as it were?
Im trying to work out a way to do it with the normal kondo servos. And without having to make loads of custom brackets etc.
I know i might have to make some but i cant find any bots with it done except the bioloid.
Ta,

I will post pics soon of my Khr. Hes undergoing some surgery at present!

Thanks again

Dave

Adrenalynn
02-10-2009, 04:09 PM
If you're using a LiPo, yes. If not - some question.

That said - Turnigy and Hobbywing's support is HORRIBLE. They tell you straight out "no idea, try the forum", even for the most basic questions. I was hugely disappointed, and returned the units.

Kondo Dave
02-11-2009, 05:18 AM
Hi, Thanks for that. In that case i may scrap that idea and try and use Kondo servos then. Well the compatible 788 hv ones instead of getting micro ones.
Thanks for your advice and help.

Dave

tom_chang79
02-23-2009, 01:20 AM
OMG, Castle Creations! I have two Mamba Max that I use, one for each of my RC vehicle...

I never realized they made BECs too...

Adrenalynn
02-23-2009, 01:38 PM
yeah, they make an awesome BEC - totally worth the money, especially if you already have their programmer.